WIAW Detox; vegan options, gluten free

Hello to all my WIAW friends.  Perhaps predictably, I have started with my first day on the Detox.  So this is what I ate..

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, montage, detoxI started the day with Nancy’s chocolate chip breakfast mousse.  It was REALLY good, I amended the quantities here and there, because I am easing myself into increasing my fats.  In the mousse is walnuts, almond milk (unsweetened), chia seeds, raw cococa powder and protein powder, with a sprinkle of cacao nibs on top. – YUM!!!

Breakfast, raw chocolate mousse, cocoa, cacao, raw, veganIn the book, Nancy mentions those people who exercise too much, and recommends 30 minutes a day.  I think I might be one of those people, as I then went for 2 hours of intensive cardio exercise.

When I got home I was starving!  Even Ben noticed I was hangry!  I quicly chopped up an apple and ate with a herbal tea – no caffeine or dairy for me!

snack, detox, apple

My Dad and brother came to visit, but I had to cut our meeting short because I had to have some lunch.  I made my version of he cashew slaw

lunch, cashew slaw, courgette, coleslaw, carrot, kaleNo matter what I did with it, I couldn’t stop the courgette from glowing an unnatural white.  In it there was two types of kale, carrot, courgette and spring onion in a cashew, lemon and mint dressing.  I had rouble fitting it all in the bowl!

I had a busy afternoon putting up decorations and then went to the cinema – I watched Frozen, can’t beat a good Disney film.  So I missed an afternoon snack.

I managed the ‘raw ’til 4′ and therefore vegan too, but come dinnertime when I got home, I quickly put on the oven and baked an organic free range chicken fillet alongside a large flat mushroom.  I made a filling for the mushroom out of spinach, garlic, nutritional yeast and crumbled in the last of my homemade tofu chevre.

kombucha, dinner, stuffed mushroom, vegan cheese, chicken,With a glass of kombucha on the side – yum!

I was supposed to be increasing my intake of water to approx 3 litres of water to support the detox.  I had 4 mugs of herbal tea, approx 250 ml each; 2 and a bit 600ml bottles of water; 3 glasses of water approx 200ml each, and a 125ml glass of kombucha.  I think that pretty much covers my 3 litres 🙂

How much water do you drink in a day? 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “WIAW Detox; vegan options, gluten free

  1. maria December 12, 2013 at 4:58 pm Reply

    chicken isn’
    t vegan.

    • Emily Hawkes December 13, 2013 at 8:36 am Reply

      You’re quite right Maria, sorry for the misleading title. I was meant to be vegan all day – I did Vegan and raw ’til 4 (well 7.30), but I caved by my evening meal.

Leave a Reply

