Kitchen Love: What’s new in my kitchen?

I’ve finally gotten around to making a short list of some of the things I’m loving lately.  I really need a better way of recording these things because when it comes to it, I’ve forgotten what’s new and what I’ve shared before 🙂

1. Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Flour

I’ve read good things about Bob’s Red Mill – it seems that it is featured on lots of American blogs, so I when I was placing an order with Real Foods, I thought I would give it a go. It is made up of a mixture of garbanzo (chickpea) flour, potato starch, tapioca flour, sorghum flour, and fava flour. My one attempt at using it was not a great success, but I think that was more to do with using flax eggs rather than the eggs in the recipe – the edges, and subsequent use making cookies were really good!

Bob's Red Mill, Gluten Free, Baking, Flour, Chickpea, Fava, Potato starch2. Meridian Sunflower Seed Butter

I’ve tried sunflower seed butter before, but I’d not tried Meridan before.  100% sunflower seeds, no added oil.  A lot of brands have added sunflower oil, which I don’t think is necessary, so I was happy to try this one.

sunflower seed butter, sunflower, nut butter, seed butter, vegan,

3. Liquorice and oriental spice tea

I had been enjoying my Peppermint and Liquorice tea, but I’ve been finding it a bit sweet of late.  I’m liking these with my breakfast for a change, you can taste the liquorice, but it’s not too sweet and naturally warming.

Liquorice and oriental spices, herbal tea, liquorice, licoriceMade with:

Liquorice Root (37%), Cinnamon (25%), Ginger (17%), Blackberry leaves (7.5%), Apple Pomace (5.5%), Aniseed (2%), Nutmeg (1.5%), Clove buds (1.5%), Pepper (1%), Orange Peel (1%), Cardamom (1%)

4. Persimmon

I’ve been enjoying persimmon, or sharon fruit in porridge, smoothies, and protein hot chocolate – yummy!  Low in calories and high in fibre, they are a good source of vitamin C and a number of B vitamins.  Research shows about 6.3 grams fructose per 100 grams of fruit, similiar to that of an apple.

persimmon, sharon fruit

5. Dragonfly Smoked Tofu

I try to steer clear of tofu and unfermented soya products, but I fancied making some vegan chèvre. I used this tofu and it was deliciously smoky and creamy.  It’s also made locally to me, here in Devon – bonus!

Dragon fly tofu, smoked tofu, organic6. Detox: Feel sexier in 20 days

Oh dear, an email dropped into my inbox this week.  I deliberated for a while: would I learn anything new? would it be a bunch of ‘health food ingredients’ instead of real food? But I gave in and got the book.  Watch this space, I’ll have a review and a WIAW coming up!

Nancy Chalmers, Detox, Wolf and Willow, Sexy Super Natural

What new things are you loving lately?  Is anyone else doing a pre-Christmas detox?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Kitchen Love: What’s new in my kitchen?

  1. veggiebentolove December 9, 2013 at 12:47 am Reply

    Not so much a detox, but after my husband’s staff Christmas dinner and his birthday this week, I am definitely watching what I’m eating, and trying to stay on top of water intake (rather than coffee, coffee, coffee all day long!).

    • Emily Hawkes December 9, 2013 at 8:32 am Reply

      Oh, I miss the coffee already! I have a hubby-birthday this weekend, don’t know how I’m going to cope :-/

  2. […] who’s detoxing before Christmas?  I told you in my latest Kitchen Love post that I bought the Detox: Feel Sexier in 20 Days.  Have you come across Nancy Chalmers? I […]

  3. […] without a strong flavour.  I used the same Dragonfly brand tofu that I mentioned in my most recent Kitchen Love post, but this time I bought original rather than the […]

Leave a Reply

