A week of…breakfasts: vegan and gluten free

I’d fallen into a bit of a breakfast rut, so I thought if I shared my week of breakfasts, it would give me motivation to try some different things.

a week of...breakfast, montage, oats, zoats, protein, roll, egg, sunbutter, hot cocoa,

a week of…breakfast

I was inspired by Lil’ Miss Fitness Freak to return to my zoats (or zucchini oats) for breakfast.  Topped with a teaspoon of no added sugar blueberry jam and a drizzle of Carnation light condensed milk it felt very decadent!

breakfast, oats, zoats, zucchini, courgette, condensed milk

Monday breakfast

On Tuesday I wanted something a little different, so I used the persimmon I had in the fridge to make a protein hot chocolate – I think I like the persimmon better than the banana, it’s not so overpowering.  I removed the flesh from the hard skin, and at that separately, which gave me something to chew – definitley increases satiety!

breakfast, hot chocolate, cocoa, persimmon, sharon fruit, protein

Tuesday breakfast

Wednesday’s breakfast was inspired by KERF.  I wanted to try sunflower butter, (sugar free blueberry) jam and egg on a roll, but I avoid bread.  I decided to break this rule because everyone was saying how good it was!  I chose a granary roll from our local Real Food Store so I knew it had been properly made and not mass produced.

breakfast, sunflower butter, sunbutter, jam, granary, bread roll, egg

Wednesday breakfast

On Thursday I returned to oats, but this time I made banana oats with cottage cheese (my milk had turned sour) and topped with more jam.  You can see my herbal tea, and vitamin tablet on the side 🙂 As it was a fairly small bowl of porridge, I crumbled a little bit of homemade oat cookie on the top – yum!

a week of, breakfast, oats, jam, cottage cheese, porridge

Thursday breakfast

On Friday I had porridge again, but this time I had Bench Pressed Oats.  I’ve been wanting to share these with you for a couple of weeks now, I won’t say much but I have a review and a recipe coming up!

breakfast, bench pressed oats, protein, apple and raisin

Friday breakfast

And what did I buy at the Farmers’ Market this week?

farmer's market, parsnips, kale, squashes, uchiki kuri, harlequin, crown prince, delicata

Farmers’ Market

I thought this might be my last trip to the Farmers’ Market this year, so I stocked up on some squashes.  We have: uchiki kuri, delicata, harlequin, crown prince.  I also bought a couple of parsnips, and some kale.  I acutally bought two bags of kale – one curly, and I think the other is hunger gap kale.  I gave half away to my boss after he was telling me about making kale chips in the microwave – I’ve previously used my dehydrator.  Bless him, I don’t think he really wanted it but was far to polite to say anything – hope he enjoys it!

Do you change up your breakfasts, or stick to what works?  What was your favourite breakfast this week?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “A week of…breakfasts: vegan and gluten free

  1. Katy December 7, 2013 at 3:28 pm Reply

    Yum! Love the variety!

  2. Katy December 7, 2013 at 3:29 pm Reply

    I made a turkey quiche this week with Thanksgiving leftovers! It was definitely the best breakfast I have had in a long time!

    • Emily Hawkes December 8, 2013 at 7:08 am Reply

      Ahh…wow! That sounds amazing. Did you use a pastry base or something else?

      • Katy December 9, 2013 at 11:07 pm

        I used a Pillsbury pie crust as the base.

  3. lilmissfitnessfreak December 7, 2013 at 10:55 pm Reply

    Yay glad I could remind you how yummy zoats are! Your breakys look yummy, I love crumbling homemade baked goods in my proats… I like the texture 😋 it’s always sad when the farmers markets come to a close, but I’m glad here in Hamilton we have one open all year round. I just miss the local produce during the winter. Your picture reminds me that I still really want to try delicata squash! Squash lover 😊👌

    • Emily Hawkes December 8, 2013 at 7:11 am Reply

      Thank you so much for stopping by – I love your blog. I didn’t explain myself very well, the Farmers’ market is still going, but because I go in my lunchbreak I don’t think I will be able to make it – lunchtime meetings 😦

      • lilmissfitnessfreak December 8, 2013 at 4:57 pm

        Thanks for checking out my blog as well! Oh, that’s a great way to spend a lunch break I think 😉 foodie forever haha

Leave a Reply

