WIAW Thanksgiving

Thanks again Jenn for hosting this seasonal get together.  I promised you last week that I would write a full post on what I ate on Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving, WIAW, What I ate WednesdayAs a girl from the UK, we haven’t had all the trimmings you have in the USA.  The closest we get is Christmas Dinner, usually consisting of Turkey, stuffing balls (basic sage and onion), sausage meat, pigs in blankets, bread sauce, roast potatoes and steamed veg.  Ok, that’s quite a lot, but we don’t have any of the hash brown casseroles, mounds of stuffing made with lots of bread (etc) and I never knew about sweet potato casserole with marshmallows.  Tell me – how is that a savoury dish – it seems more like dessert to me!

Another thing that surprises me – Christmas dinner is usually brightly coloured with carrots, peas, broccoli and brussels sprouts, but what strikes me is that Thanksgiving meals look fairly neutral.  Perhaps you will surprise me with your Thanksgiving eats!  Here go mine…

WIAW, thankgiving, lunch, breakfast, dinner, snacks, popcorn, peanut butter and jelly, roast dinner, turkey, burger, pumpkin pie

I started my day with a healthy take on pumpkin pie.  The base was baked porridge/oatmeal, and the pumpkin layer was made with pureed pumpkin, yogurt and a pinch of xanthan gum to thicken it.  I topped it with some toasted pecan nuts and a drizzle of maple syrup.

pumpkin pie, healthy pumpkin pie, baked oatmeal, baked porridge, pumpkin layer, yogurt, yoghurt

WIAW breakfast

In true ‘American Stylee’ I had some peanut butter and jam (jelly) on some bread as a snack

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW, peanut butter and jelly, blueberry jam

WIAW peanut butter and jam

I knew I would be too full at dinner to manage stuffing, so I made my own take on Kristy’s Tempeh stuffing for lunch. I can’t get hold of farro, so I used buckwheat.  Into the pan went tempeh, carrots, celery, mushrooms, tempeh and some tamari sauce.  For serving I sprinkled over some pomegranate seeds and a pinch of thyme from the farmer’s market.  I took my lunch photo with my ipod, so it hasn’t come out great, I’ve included photos taken earlier

WIAW, stuffing, thanksgiving, vegan

WIAW Thanksgiving stuffing lunch

On the train on the way home I munched some homemade dry popped pormcorn – sprinkled with some mixed spice for seasonal eatings:

popcorn, air popped, healthy snack, mixed spice

WIAW popcorn snack

My legs were killing me after a workout the day before using the BOSU.  I thought I would just take it easy at my rowing class, when in walked our cover teacher.  I knew then that there was no way I was going to be taking it easy: an incline hill, fartlek session, two tabata sessions and more later I was definitely ready for dinner.  Needless to say I wasn’t walking well on Friday!

WIAW, dinner, What I ate Wednesday, Thanksgiving dinner, turkey burger, roast veg, sweet potato, cranberry sauce

WIAW dinner

I made a homemade turkey burger with fresh sage, and home-dried cranberries (boy were they sour!), I roasted some broccoli and brussesls sprouts sprinkled with more cranberries, and roast sweet potato wedges on the side.  Can you see the tiny wee sprout from the sprout top?  Awesome!

dehydrator, cranberries, dried cranberries

home dried cranberries

So what did Ben have – I also made stuffing Thug Kitchen style, replacing the mushrooms with a tin of seitan – different!  I was inspired to make Kristy’s Hash brown casserole, I used cream of celery soup to make the sauce, and topped with cornflakes – which seemed weird to Ben and I, but he ate it.  I made some pumpkin-treacle-tarts for dessert – but Ben was too full to eat them so he had a beer and watched the Football instead!

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday,Thanksgiving, Stuffing, vegan, treacle tart, pumpkin pie, hash brown

WIAW Ben’s Thanksgiving

Hope you had a good Thanksgiving – what did you eat?  Do you eat normally through the day, or do you cut back so you can have a blow out Thanksgiving dinner?

7 thoughts on “WIAW Thanksgiving

  1. […] WIAW Thanksgiving (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. brokencookiesdontcount December 4, 2013 at 1:05 pm Reply

    Everywhere I go today…brussel sprouts! I love them. I just got a dehydrator, but I haven’t tried it yet. Yum to home dried cranberries! Have a great day!

    • Emily Hawkes December 4, 2013 at 2:09 pm Reply

      Glad to hear you love brussels sprouts – they’re great 🙂 My Dad bought me my dehydrator for Christmas last year, thinking it would be a short lived gift, bt I still love it!

  3. Anne @ Inhabited Kitchen December 4, 2013 at 5:21 pm Reply

    It’s fascinating to an American to see a non-American take on this holiday.

    I don’t understand marshmallows in sweet potatoes myself… LOL Not all of us do that.

    I hadn’t really thought about the colors. Yes – the turkey/stuffing/gravy is all on a beige/brown continuum – but by the time I’ve added emerald Brussels sprouts, deep orange sweet potatoes, and bright red cranberries it’s just as well to have a neutral background. Also, this in many ways has its roots as a harvest festival, so Too Much Food (and sending everyone home with leftovers for several days) is part of the tradition. (I fill the table, then count on leftovers, rather than stuffing myself as well as the turkey… I still have plenty of cooked meat in the freezer for later easy meals in the busy Christmas season.)

    And cranberries are *very* sour. You’ll always see them as an ingredient in things, rather than alone… sauces and relishes are sweetened or made with other fruit. I use them, in other meals, with winter squash or other things that are pretty sweet themselves to add a bit of sparkle and a contrast.

    • Emily Hawkes December 5, 2013 at 8:16 am Reply

      It’s cool that you get some colours in your food. I had cranberries as part of a meal out last night, they weren’t too bad there 🙂 And I love leftovers too!

  4. Julie December 4, 2013 at 5:53 pm Reply

    I love PB&J. Best thing ever.

    • Emily Hawkes December 5, 2013 at 8:16 am Reply

      I never had PB when I was growing up, so it is something fairly new to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

