Thanksgiving and pumpkin crumble flapjack slices: gluten free, vegan option

Ok, I’m from the UK and I’m as English/Devonshire as it gets so I feel a bit of an imposter!  I follow a lot of American and Canadian blogs so I’ve not been able to escape the excitement around this holiday.

Having said that, I went to University in Plymouth, where the Mayflower set off from, so maybe I’m not so disconnected after all.

I used to enjoy Harvest service at Primary School, which I suppose is the same principle – giving thanks for the Harvest.  We would bring in something for assembly, and our collective efforts would be delivered to the ‘needy’ (ok usually the older generations) in the locality.

I have a friend who always does Thankful Thursday on Facebook and adds a post for something she is thankful for each Thursday.  I think it is a great practice to stop and count your blessings regularly, but one I don’t do enough!

So as it is American Thanksgiving – I am today giving thanks for the food on my table, and the fact that I can enjoy exciting foods, so much so that here I am writing a blog about it!  I am also thankfyl for my family and my friends who are a source of joy (and sometimes frustration) in my life.

And as this is a food blog, and there are so many yummy pumpkin recipes out there, I am sharing my pumpkin crumble flapjack slices:

pumpkin, crumble, flapjack, oats, pear and apricot, fruit pureeI thought my pumpkin treacle flapjacks couldn’t be topped – but it turns out they can!  Topped with a pumpkin, pear and apricot fruit layer, and a crumble crust – AH-MAZ-ING!

I wanted to sweeten it naturally so I bought some 100% fruit puree.  I thought pumpkin and apricot would be an awesome combination, so I bought the pear and apricot version.

fruit spread, 100%, fruit paste, fruit puree, pear, apricot, Pumpkin crumble flapjack slices

For the flapjack

  • 200g jumbo oats, partially processed
  • 100g golden syrup
  • 100g butter or coconut oil
  • 50g golden syrup
  • 50g treacle

For the pumpkin puree

For the crumble topping

  • 100g plain flour
  •  75g butter or coconut oil
  •  50g rolled oats
  •  100g caster sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. Start by making the flapjack base. Melt the sugar and butter or coconut oil in a saucepan.  Add the treacle and golden syrup and continue to simmer until all the sugar is melted.
  3. In a food processor, lightly pulse the oats to help them to stick together.  Stir in the  oats into the treacle mixture.
  4. Pour the mixture into an oiled baking tray (with baking paper if necessary)
  5. Meanwhile stir together the pumpkin and fruit purees.  Add a teaspoon of xanthan gum if it is too runny.
  6. Spread over the flapjack mixture.
  7. Blend the flour and butter in a food processor for a few seconds, until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs.
  8. Stir in the oats and the brown sugar and sprinkle over the fruit puree.
  9. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until the crumble is golden brown.
  10. Slice and cool in the tray.

pumpkin, apricot, crumble, flapjack, slice, traybakeWhat are you giving thanks for today?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

