Pumpkin puree: vegan, gluten free

I bought Ben a treat from our town’s Farmer’

s Market when I passed this week.  It’s a different market to the one I usually report from.

chocolate cake, Farmer's Market, present

Farmer’s Market chocolate cake

As I bought him a present, I thought I should buy one for myself too 🙂

giant pumpkin

giant pumpkin

Pumpkin is nutritious:

“[pumpkin] is low in Saturated Fat, and very low in Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a good source of Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol), Thiamin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Iron, Magnesium and Phosphorus, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Riboflavin, Potassium, Copper and Manganese.”

Having said that – I got my order from Real Foods, so that’s like getting a present – YAY!

REal Foods, cocoa, cacao, pumpkin, gluten free flour, Bob's Red Mill, sunflower, red quinoa

Real Foods order

I topped up my stash of cacao powder, red quinoa, and I tried for the first time Meridian Sunflower Butter, Suma Cocoa powder, Liquorice and Orential Spice teabags and Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Flour which I’ve heard lots about.

I couldn’t resist getting a couple of tins of pumpkin – they’re cheaper than at the supermarket!  It’s great to have a couple of jars to hand.

But, back to that giant pumpkin –  if you have the time – why don’t you make your own pumpkin puree?  Here’s some directions from Organic Eats Magazine

Organic Eats, pumpkin, puree, homemade, thanksgiving

Organic Eats magazine

For step by step instructions see my Uchki Kuri post, or check out this summary from Organic Eats:

  1. For the best pumpkin puree select a sweeter, smaller, mini or dwarf pie pumpkin.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF. Wash the exterior of the pumpkin using a scrub brush to remove any dirt
  3. Cut the pumpkin in half. Turn the pumpkin as you cut, taking care to end at the same point you began. There is no need to remove the seeds and membranes (I’ve always removed them before, but this time I didn’t and it was fine!
  4. Place the pumpkin in a parchment lined shallow, glass baking dish with the rind down (I still did it with the cut side down, skin up – I find this much quicker)
  5. Bake until soft and lightly browned, 30 to 45 minutes, or more, until soft. Pierce flesh of the pumpkin at its thickest part to see if it’s done. If still firm, it needs additional cooking time. When done, remove pumpkin from oven and cool completely.
  6. Remove seeds and membranes, remove the cooked pumpkin flesh from the skin, using a smooth spoon to gently lift and scoop it out of the skin and into a food processor or blender. The rind and flesh should separate easily, in large chunks, if the pumpkin is cooked enough.
  7. Let it process long enough, that you get a nice, smooth consistency. The pumpkin puree is now ready to use in recipes. Store unused pumpkin in an airtight jar in the refrigerator. It can be frozen then thawed before using.
pumpkin, puree, roast pumpkin

roast pumpkin

What would you use the pumpkin puree in?  Watch this space for some ideas coming up…

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin puree: vegan, gluten free

  1. […] parts pumpkin puree and fruit […]

  2. […] wonderign what to cover in my ‘a week of…’ posts this week, and as I made a huge batch of pumpkin puree last week, I thought I would demonstrate how I used up the pumpkink.  It was in full flow with […]

Leave a Reply

