A week of … snacks

Happy weekend!  Yay!

When I started the week I had every intention on bringing you some delicious snack ideas.  It all started so well, but I found myself the victim of the squiggly line effect.

I love Kath’s explanation of the squiggly line effect, but when you think about it – it really is common sense.  For weight maintenance you have to balance your days of excess with days of restriction.

In the past I was living a life of restriction, so the odd day of excess didn’t have much effect.  Now I am eating more to my body’s calorie requirements and those little bits here and there add up.

So to nip this in the bud before the ‘silly season’ (I won’t say the ‘C’ word yet – NO NOT THAT ‘C’ WORD!!!!) I took to a few days of restriction, meaning I cut back a bit on snacks and relied on my meals to keep me going.

a week of, snacks, snack, soup, popcorn, smoothie, porridge, crumpetOk, so sometimes I get stuck in a snack rut.  As I’ve changed my macros a bit, it hasn’t changed my meals much, they were always pretty well balanced, but I’m changing up my snacks a bit.  So here is my weekly review – this time of some of my snacks:

I really fancied a crumpet, and as I needed more carbohydrate to meet my macros, it seemed like a good idea, spread with 10g of cashew nut butter.  I would usually stay away from white flour foods, but I had already checked that I had enough fibre, and I served it spread with nut butter (and a cup of tea) to reduce the glycemic index and blood sugar spike.  I thought one for a treat wouldn’t do too much harm. (perhaps that contributed to bloating and weight gain in hindsight????)

snack, crumpet, cashew, nut butter,

Monday morning snack

As I mentioned in my WIAW post, I made some more spirulina pumpkin balls, but they weren’t as good as the last batch.  I’m munching my way through these, and had one rolled in oats and buckwheat (to help hold it together and stop getting so sticky!)  It kept me going through my step class.

protein ball, oats, spirulina, snack

Monday afternoon snack

I worked from home on Tuesday so I was able to get to the kitchen to make some popcorn.  I put it in a glass-lidded saucepan with a couple spritzes of 1 cal spray, and let it pop.  About 2 tablespoons of corn made about 15-20g of popcorn allowing for those kernels that didn’t pop.  I dressed it with a teaspoon of peanut butter mixed with some maple syrup – a bit sticky, but yummy!

popcorn, maple syrup, peanut butter, snack

Tuesday morning snack

Followed by another spirulina protein ball which I had out of the freezer so it was still firm.

snack, protein ball, sprulina, banana, squash, uchki kuri

Tuesday afternoon protein ball

I relied on miso soup to get me through to lunch in the latter part of the week.  I also drank lots – tea, herbal tea, water even a little bit of no added sugar squash. The extra liquid helped to fill me up, and helped to detox my system.  Water is so important for all your bodily functions.

clearspring, miso, unpasturised,

Unpasturised miso paste

I made such a big smoothie for breakfast that I took some in a jar and had it as a snack.  Watch this space for the smoothie recipe – it was awesome!

protein powder, pumpkin, persimmon, sharon fruit, coconut yogurt

Protein smoothie

And again, I took a few teaspoons of porridge out of my breakfast bowl and saved it for an afternoon snack topped with a little sliced persimmon.

porridge, persimmon, snack, leftover

porridge and persimmon

I was pleased with my purchases from the Farmer’s Market this week, from the lovely people at Linnscombe

Farmer's Market, squash, kabocha, harlequin, butternut, sprout top, fennel, sage

Farmer’s Market

I bought three squashes: kabocha, harlequin and a small butternut.  As well as fennel with tops attached, some sage and a brussel sprout top

brussel sprout, brussel sprout tops

so cute!

Look – it still has little tiny brussel sprouts attached!

I debated buying another chicken carcass to make stock or some partridge burgers, but I left it at vegetables this week.

Do you find it easy or hard to maintain your weight?  Either way, do you snack or stick to three meals a day?  What are your favourite snacks?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A week of … snacks

  1. jmlol November 23, 2013 at 5:38 pm Reply

    Snacks are always my weakness.

    • Emily Hawkes November 24, 2013 at 8:02 am Reply

      They don’t have to be a weakness – embrace them 🙂

      • jmlol November 24, 2013 at 11:22 pm

        More like make them…

      • Emily Hawkes November 25, 2013 at 8:18 am

        🙂

Leave a Reply

