Oaty Pancakes; gluten free

I think I’ve become a bit obsessed with gluten free pancakes of late.

You see, I thought they were unhealthy and I couldn’t eat pancakes.  They were reserved for something I would cook on Pancake day, and as an occasional treat for Ben on a Sunday – I wouldn’t partake myself.

But then I came up with a recipe which worked – I was so happy!

I’ve since tried several different versions, and totally got on board with socca/farinata/chickpea pancakes.

So when I saw a pancake recipe in my fitness magazine, I had to give it a go 🙂

Oat pancakes, oaty, women's fitness, magazine, pancakes, gluten free

Women’s Fitness December 2013

Supposed to make two portions, I only wanted enough for me, so I thought I’d cut the recipe in half – but who wants a recipe which calls for half an egg?  So I tweaked it a little, and yay, they still came out great!

oat, pancakes, oaty pancakes, gluten free, banana soft serve

oaty pancakes with banana soft serve

I was making some this week and, oh no!  I didn’t have any yogurt, so I threw in some mashed roasted pumpkin instead, and it worked.  This recipe must be foolproof 🙂

Oaty Pancakes

Serves 1

  • 40g jumbo oats
  • pinch bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 medium egg
  • pinch cinnamon
  • 30ml almond milk
  • 50g 0% fat greek yogurt, or 50g pumpkin puree
  • banana soft serve, to serve

In a food processor, grind the oats to a fine powder. Add the bicarbonate of soda , egg, cinnamon, almond milk and yogurt.  Heat a non-stick frying pan.  Spritiz with a little 1 calorie spray if necessary.  Add heaped tablespoons of the batter to your pan (spacing well apart) and cook for 1-2 minutes on each side.  They will start to bubble on the top when the underside is cooked.  Meanwhile, wipe out your food processor and make banana soft-serve.

What newly discovered dish do you keep coming back to?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

