A week of…lunches; vegan and gluten free options

Good morning!  I’ve had a busy week, and I’ve not really been feeling myself – I’ve been tired and had a bit of a stomach upset.  So what have I been eating to keep me on track?

Here is my week of lunches:

a week of, week of, lunch, lunches,

Monday lunch

On Monday I was OK, apart from a caffeine induced headache.   I didn’t touch coffee after Monday.  I recreated my celeriac coleslaw in addition to the celeriac I used golden beetroot and avocado.  I didn’t have much smoked salmon left, but I threw what I had in. I added some low fat soft cheese to the yogurt to make it creamier, and I sprinkled with buckwheat groats for crunch and carbohydrate.

The meal filled me up, and required lots of chewing, but it wasn’t long before I was hungry again – I guess there wasn’t enough carbohydrate.

To make up for the lack of carbs in Monday’s lunch, I had a quinoa salad on Tuesday

quinoa, courgette, carrot, tempeh, avocado, guacamole, miso

Tuesday lunch

Sorry, not a great photo.  In the quinoa salad is carrot, courgette, tempeh and a sprinkle of chia seeds.  On the side I made cheats guacamole with avocado and low fat soft cheese, and I had a miso soup on the side.

I had the day off on Wednesday.  I love to make a yummy hot lunch when I am at home during the week – it just feels special 🙂  This was the day I started to really have a stomach upset – typical: you get a day off and end up poorly.  I was OK until the afternoon when I had my hair done at the hairdressers. I enjoyed a yummy lunch, recreating the spaghetti squash bolognese, this time with mince, and a cheesy farinata on the side.

spaghetti squash, mince, bolognese, farinata, gluten free

Wednesday lunch

Back to work on Thursday

tuna, yogurt, avocado, buckwheat crispbread, lettuce

Thursday lunch

I made low fat tuna ‘mayonnaise’ using yogurt in place of the mayo – quick tip, add a dash of apple cider vinegar for a slight tang.  When it comes to tuna mayo – you have to have sweetcorn!  I had had half an avocado and some lettuce leaves on the side, and served it all piled on buckwheat crispbreads – once upon a time I would only have had two or three of these in a serving – I ate the whole packet 🙂

To round out the week I had a delicious vegan meal:

vegan, hummus, pumpkin, beetroot, aubergine, lettuce, buckwheat

Friday lunch

I made a homemade pumpkin hummus with roasted pumpkin, chickpeas, garlic and tahini paste.  While I was roasting my pumpkin I also roasted golden beetroot and aubergine, I threw these over some salad leaves from the Farmer’s Market and scattered over some cooked buckwheat groats.

So what did I buy from the Farmer’s Market this week?

Farmers Market, veal sausage, golden beetroot, salad leaves

Farmer’s market

I was a bit disappointed this week, by the time I got there lots of the ‘good stuff’ was gone.  I managed to get my hands on the last of the golden beetroots and I bought a bag of salad leaves.  It was from a different farm than the last time I bought salad leaves.

Because I had money left I bought Ben a packet of veal sausages from Bocaddon Farm – welfare friendly veal!

I was recommended the Sicilian style sausages – with lemon, white wine and garlic – no rusk, breadcrumbs or fillers.

Give me some inspiration – what was your favourite lunch this week? Do you take a packed lunch, or do you eat at home?  Which of MY lunches do you like best?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

