Stop in the name of the slaw: celeriac coleslaw, gluten free

You’ll have to bear with me, I’m not feeling 100%, but I’m sticking with it.  Very tempted to get myself a Costa Hot Chocolate – I don’t think I’ve ever craved one of them before!

I bought this celeriac at the market.  Who knew celeriacs (is that the plural?) could be so muddy?

celeriac

celeriac

Thankfully you cut off the skin to prepare, so I got rid of all of that without too much trouble.  The skin on this one was quite tricky though.  I’m not sure I cut off enough the first time around because the flesh was tough to chew and quite fibrous.

I balanced it out nicely with some amazing golden beetroot, courgette and avocado, in this gorgeous coleslawI love these golden beetroot.  I can only seem to get them at the Farmer’s Market.  The great thing is, not only do they taste wonderful, they don’t stain your hands that hideous red/purple that regular beets do – win, win!

I roasted them up before to throw them in this delicious and fresh salad:

beetroot, golden beetroot, roast veg, roasted, vegetables, spinach, buckwheat

beetroot salad

I’ve been holding on to that photo for ages – doesn’t it look fab??  In there is roasted purple and golden/yellow beetroot, grilled delicata squash, grilled tempeh, buckwheat groats and spinach – yum!

Anyway, that’s an aside, today I am introducing you to my coleslaw:

coleslaw, beetroot, celeriac, zucchini, courgette, avocado, salmon, horseradishThankfully my gorgeous assistant (Ben) helped me by ‘mandolining’ and chopping the veg.  I made the dressing, and threw it all together.  Simples:

Celeriac, Courgette and Beetroot coleslaw

  • 80g celeriac, julienned
  • 80g golden beetroot, julienned
  • 80g courgette/zucchini, julienned
  • 40g avocado, sliced
  • 50g plain 0% fat greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp freshly grated horseradish
  • 25g smoked salmon (optional)

Simply toss the vegetables together, stir the horseradish into the yogurt and combine.  Sprinkle over the smoked salmon trimmings (if using) and serve.  Sprinkle with buckwheat groats for added crunch.

What is your go to option when you are feeling under the weather?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Stop in the name of the slaw: celeriac coleslaw, gluten free

  1. […] from a caffeine induced headache.   I didn’t touch coffee after Monday.  I recreated my celeriac coleslaw in addition to the celeriac I used golden beetroot and avocado.  I didn’t have much smoked […]

Leave a Reply

