WIAW: Giving blood

Thank you Jenn for hosting this weeks’ What I ate Wednesday.

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW

So, I’m kind of running out of themes.  I gave blood last week, and as that’s a bit special, I chose that to be my ‘What I ate’ day.  Want a sneak peak?  Well here you go…

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW, sneak peak

What I ate Wednesday

I started the day with big smoothie made with banana, squash (I think it was kabocha), a protein shake and a big dollop of yogurt.  And off to work I went.

WIAW, Smoothie, What I ate Wednesday,  pumpkin, squash, protein powder, It was mid morning by the time my appointment came around. They give you a pint of water to drink, and check that you’ve eaten enough.  My breakfast was quite a long time ago by then.  I was surprised that this time around they asked me if I had done any exercise in the last 24 hours – ummm, yes!  Because it is all part of my normal routine, that was ok.

The best part about giving blood (how shallow am I) Is that you get a chocolate club and a cup of tea afterwards (actually, I think the best part is just sitting there without having to think for 15 minutes while my blood slowly trickles into the bag – I have small veins!).  It’s the only time of the year when I will let myself eat a whole choccy biscuit 🙂 (and indeed, the only time I really fancy one).

WIAW, chocolate club, snack, biscuit, teaMmm…mint club, I think that’s my favourite 🙂

WIAW, Lunch, What I ate Wednesday, sweet potato, cashew, mushroom, beetroot hummus, chickpeaI’d made myself a nice sustaining lunch.  It was  a leftover jacket sweet potato from the night before, with a massive portion of golden beetroot hummus (homemade, of course) and on the side (or poured over by the time I served it) was some grilled mushrooms in a homemade cashew yogurt.

On the way home I had a spirulina and ginseng bounceball. Yum, I do like these occasionally.

bounce ball, spirulina, ginseng, snack, WIAWI chilled out with a yoga class – I had to promise I wouldn’t be doing any strenuous exercise for 24 hours 😦

I went home for dinner

prawn, smoked salmon, buckwheat pasta, cheese sauce, peas, WIAWFor a nice dose of protein to help me recover from my ordeal, I had smoked salmon and king prawn pasta in a yogurt and soft cheese sauce with peas – yummy.  Really luxurious comfort food.

Do you give blood?  What is the best part about it for you?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “WIAW: Giving blood

  1. Rachel @ painfreekitchen November 13, 2013 at 2:25 pm Reply

    Yum jacket sweet potatoes. Well now I know what I’m making for dinner tonight! Thanks!

    Also good job with giving blood. I tried to do it for the first time about 5 months ago and got turned down. I unfortunately have the bad habit of passing out every single time I lose blood. So when they pricked my finger to test and I got lightheaded, the nurse black listed me. Apparently people like me can go into seizure…eek!

    • Emily Hawkes November 14, 2013 at 8:49 am Reply

      Well done you for giving it a go! Hope you enjoyed your jacket sweet potatoes 🙂

Leave a Reply

