Spaghetti squash and tempeh bolognese sauce: vegan, gluten free

Yay! I finally found a spaghetti squash.  I had come across them on blogs, but hadn’t seen one ‘in the flesh’ as it were.  I was at the Farmer’s Market, and I saw it in a basket with other pumpkins and squashes.  I asked the lady, and she seemed impressed that I knew what it was.  Of course I had to take it home and give it a go.

There was only one sauce that I wanted to try with it – bolognese!  But in keeping with the blogs that introduced me to this “slimy yet satisfying” vegetable (ok, technically it is a fruit!)

vegan, bolognese, farinata, tomato, olive, spaghetti squash, pumpkin, gourdThe great thing about having a vegetable as your ‘carb’ – you can have carbs on the side 🙂  I’m still keeping within my macros! I served it with my tomato and olive farinata – yum!

I decided that the squash was more like a courgette than a pumpkin.  The flesh isn’t as dense (shock, horror adn duh, of course not!) and the skin isn’t as thick.  The skin of all squashes are edible – I guess some are just more edible than others.  On that point, I am loving harlequin squash this week!

So I roasted half a spaghetti squash, as I have done numerous other squashes now.  Cut in half, scoop out the seeds (I know, I know I should try to roast them, I just haven’t geared myself up for that yet)

spaghetti squash

spaghetti squash

It was greener than I expected.  I’m sure the ones I have seen on other blogs have been more yellow…?  Is mine underripe, or is it a different type?  If you know, please leave me a comment!

I made my bolognese with tempeh; meat, lentils or beans would work just as well, I am sure.  In fact, that is what I might do with the remaining half 🙂

spaghetti squash, tempeh, bolognese, tomato, mushroom

Tempeh bolognese

Serves 1

  • 50g tempeh
  • 80g chopped tomatoes
  • 80g mushrooms
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tsp vegan Worcestershire sauce
  • 10g (1 heaped tsp) double concentrate tomato puree (I didn’t have any, but it makes a much richer sauce!)
  1. If you are using onions, soften them in a frying pan. You could dry fry them with a spritz of oil.  If/when they start to stick add a splash of water. Give them a good 10 minutes or more to get them caramelised for a naturally sweet hit!
  2. Grate in the garlic clove and tomato puree, and cook it off for a few minutes to get rid of the bitter taste.
  3. Crumble in the tempeh and cook for a few minutes. Cover with a glass lid to help speed up the process.
  4. Add in the chopped tomatoes and sliced mushrooms.  Add a splash of water if the sauce gets too thick – the tomato puree will do that.  Keep it bubbling to reduce it down if you add too much water.  Add the Worcestershire for the last couple of minutes of cooking.

Meanwhile, roast your squash in the oven for about half an hour.  Take a fork and run it through the flesh of the squash to see if the strands come away.  If it’s ready continue to run your fork through until the flesh comes away in spaghetti-like strands.  If not, put it back in the oven for 10 minutes at a time.  It will depend on how big your squash is.

Serve in the shell, if you wish, with the bolognese sauce poured over.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Spaghetti squash and tempeh bolognese sauce: vegan, gluten free

  1. inte fan gör det det November 13, 2013 at 9:10 am Reply

    Yummy !:-)

    • Emily Hawkes November 14, 2013 at 8:50 am Reply

      Thanks! I am getting on board with this spaghetti squash thing 🙂

  2. […] the afternoon when I had my hair done at the hairdressers. I enjoyed a yummy lunch, recreating the spaghetti squash bolognese, this time with mince, and a cheesy farinata on the […]

  3. Tempeh | it comes naturally blog May 12, 2014 at 7:54 am Reply

    […] Spaghetti squash and tempeh bolognese sauce […]

Leave a Reply

