Sweet potato and lentil soup: gluten free, vegan

Yesterday was all about the pictures – boy, did I overdo it?  Nah!  Today it’s all about the recipe 🙂

I’m not usually one for potato soup.  I don’t want to drink my carbohydrate 🙂  I like to have a little carbohydrate on the side rather than in it.  Sweet potatoes are considered a vegetable, unlike white potatoes, though they are still high in carbohydrate.  On this occasion, my carbohydrate intake was quite low, so I decided to throw some sweet potato into my vegetable soup.

lentil, sweet potato, soup, carbohydrate, onion, tomato, vegan, vegetable soupIn addition to the sweet potato, lentils are also fairly high in carbohydrate, but also contain good amounts of protein and fibre.  Lentils contain good levels of iron and magnesium as well as containing some of the B vitamins.

I had another play around with my socca recipe.  On the spur of the moment I chucked in a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar with the gram flour and bicarbonate of soda.  The batter fizzed and went a bit wild.  Anyone who did ‘volcano’ science experiments will know that the alkali and the acid reacted with each other.  It made a wonderfully light and airy socca –  I think it was more ‘bready’ than ‘pancakey’.

Lentil and Sweet potato soup

  • 30g dry red lentils
  • 100g sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 40g onion
  • 100g chopped tomatoes
  • Tuscan herb style seasoning, smoked paprika
  • socca chickpea bread, to serve

Cover the lentils, sweet potato and onion with water and bring to the boil.  Simmer until the lentils and sweet potato are cooked – about 15-20 minutes.  Add in the chopped tomatoes and seasoning and blend with a hand blender until smooth.  Add more water if required.  Serve; or you can bring back to a simmer if the soup has cooled.  Enjoy with some socca chickpea bread.

Two questions today: Did you do the volcano experiment when you were at school?  Or even since then?

I come back to lentil soup time and again because it is so easy.  What is your favourite flavour soup?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

