Spirulina squash balls: vegan, gluten free

I am still shopping at the Farmer’s Market – I realised I forgot to take and share photos since my mammoth squash session.  Last week I bought black kale, courgettes and a crown prince squash.

crown prince squash

crown prince squash

I’d not yet tried the crown prince.  This half was the only bit left, so although it was massive I thought I would give it a go.  Cooked up the same way as I did my uchiki kuri squash.  I read that it is similiar to butternut squash but less sweet and a creamier texture.  So what do I do with it now…???

squashes, kabocha, crown prince, pumpkin

kabocha and crown prince

Well, I was inspired by an energy ball…

bounce, spirulina, energy, defense boost

spirulina and ginseng bounce ball

I enjoyed a spirulina and ginseng defense boost Bounce ball, and it got me thinking.  I’ve made energy/treat balls before, but they always end up too high in fat, or more usually too high in sugar – albeit it natural sugars.

deglet nour, dates, discount

Deglet nour dates

I bought some deglect nour dates selling off at the weekend, so I decided to try to make an energy ball, using crown prince squash as a base, and dates as a sweetener. I chucked in some spirulina, do you remember my spirulina post?  It’s great for protein, fibre and B vitamins.
spirulina, crown prince squash, squash, cacao, cashew, energy balls

Spirulina Squash Balls

makes 6

  • 150g roasted crown prince squash
  • 75g deglet nour dates, stones removed
  • 40g raw cashew nuts
  • 50g jumbo rolled oats
  • 10g spirulina powder
  • 10g raw cacao powder

simply place all ingredients in a food processor and pusle until it comes together into a ball.  Separate into 6 portions and roll into balls.  Place in the freezer, and remove individually to serve.

Nutritional information
125 calories, 20g carbohydrate, 4g fat, 4g protein, 9g sugar

Have you tried any squashes?  Which ones would you recommend?  What is your favourite thing to do with them?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spirulina squash balls: vegan, gluten free

  1. […] sprinkled with a few oats.  My afternoon snack was a protein pumpkin ball I made another batch of spirulina balls, but this time I added protein powder and banana.  They weren’t as successful, with a […]

  2. […] Monday and Tuesday I had my spirulina protein balls, not as good as my spirulina pumpkin balls.  I rolled Monday’s in oats to hold it together.  It kept me going through my step […]

Leave a Reply

