WIAW: Home for the weekend, with gluten free

Thank you to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting another edition of What I Ate Wednesday.

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW

We went home to our parents house this weekend.  I don’t cope terribly well when I am out of my comfort zone.  Mum is good, and tends to keep things in the house that I can eat, but having not been home for a while I didn’t know what to find.

On Friday night and Saturday I had quite a bit of food that I took home with me, so I took this What I Ate Wednesday from Sunday when I was at Mum’s in the morning and then drove back home to have guests over for afternoon tea.

I had breakfast of oats, grated apple, semi skimmed milk (I only have skimmed at home) and I stirred in an egg for protein.

Porridge, oats, appleOn the side I had white tea with citrus.

White tea, citrusI followed breakfast with a 1 mile speed walk on the treadmill – well it was looking at me, it would be rude not to!

I had a cup of tea (‘normal’ tea) when everyone else got up a couple of hours later.  Then I was milling about, and before I knew it, it was time to go.  I intended to make a morning snack, but I didn’t get round to it.

When we got home I got stuck into making a quick lunch while Ben watched the Grand Prix.

gram flour, pizza, mozzarella, olives, cashew, carrots, pepperI made a quick gram flour pizza topped with a little tomato salsa, olives and grilled yellow pepper.  On the side I had some carrot sticks and cashew nuts as a little ‘dessert’.

We had friends round in the afternoon.  It was the first time they had been to our new place, so I wanted to make a fuss and put on a special afternoon tea

afternoon tea, ritz, cucumber sandwiches, chocolate cookies, smoked salmon blinisI served cucumber sandwiches, homemade chocolate cookies (made that afternoon) sandwiched by icing, and I made gram flour blinis topped with low fat soft cheese and smoked salmon trimmings.

They said it was like tea at the Ritz, so I was pleased with the trouble I went to 🙂

I had 3 of the blinis with my cup of tea 🙂

WIAW, smoked salmon, blini, cream cheese, afternoon tea, gram flourI think I might have overdone the gram flour after my ‘pizza’ at lunch :-/

After our friends had gone I went to the gym for an hour.  I had a good session with some interval training on the cross trainer, some core weights, back to the bike for fartlek and tabata training and I finished with some ab work.

When I got home I threw together a squash risotto with the Crown Prince squash I bought at the farmer’s market.

risotto, squash, chicken, peasI made it with brown short grain rice, which takes longer to cook than regular brown rice.  I flavoured it with some nutritional yeast, and added in squash, peas and baked chicken breast. Yum, yum, yum.

Do your families eat the same as you?  Or do you come up against barriers to the way you eat at home?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

