Banana cake

After a week off for half term my Mum is back to work today.  I was visiting at the weekend, so when I was awake early yesterday I made this banana cake for her to take to work to share amongst her team.

It’s a great recipe that I’ve had for a while; It makes a lovely moist loaf cake.

It’s a great versatile recipe and you can throw in all sorts to tweak the recipe.  In the past I have used freeze dried berries, toffees, raisins etc.  But when I scraped Mum’s cupboards I could only find an old Christmas pudding – so I crumbled and soaked it in banana liqueur to make sure it was moist (It was!) and threw that in.

Although the recipe calls for ripe bananas, I used partially frozen bananas – call me impatient if you like, I haven’t got time to stop and argue, I have things to do and places to be 🙂

banana, loaf, cake, raisin, Christmas puddingBanana loaf cake

  1. Preheat oven to 180C/fan 160/gas 4.
  2. Cream together 100g (3½oz) margarine and 175g (6oz) light muscovado sugar (I used half muscovado sugar and half caster sugar) until soft.
  3. Mash 2 ripe bananas and mix in well.  Gently beat 2 eggs into the mixture.
  4. Fold in 225g (8oz) self-raising flour and 1tsp baking powder.  Stir in 2tbsp milk and 50g of dried fruit and nuts (I used some Old Christmas pudding soaked in banana liqueur)
  5. Spoon into a greased baking tin and bake for 1 hour or until well-risen and golden brown.

What’s your favourite cake?  How would you tweak this one? Banoffee, dried fruit, banana chips?

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Banana cake

  1. mydearbakes November 4, 2013 at 7:19 am Reply

    Can’t help but LOVED your amazing looking bake! =D

    • Emily Hawkes November 5, 2013 at 8:26 am Reply

      Thank you. This is a fool-proof recipe, I’ve yet to mess it up 🙂

  2. Charisma November 4, 2013 at 12:53 pm Reply

    This looks so tasty! Love how moist and glazed it looks!

    • Emily Hawkes November 5, 2013 at 8:25 am Reply

      Thank you! It is a very moist cake, but it’s not glazed – I think that’s probably my camera flash 🙂

  3. […] written gluten free, vegan and healthy recipes.  I’ve written cake and cookie recipes, and I’ve joined the What I ate Wednesday […]

Leave a Reply

