Amaranth porridge: vegan, gluten free

amaranth, porridge, cacao, cinnamon,

amaranth porridge

The weather has been terrible here.  We’ve had 80mph winds and heavy rain.

I’ve needed something warm to get me going in the morning.  Most mornings I have porridge, or oats with an egg white omelette on the side.  But when I made my oat scone I decided to have something other than oats.

I would sometimes alternate with buckwheat, or gram flour pancakes.  This time I went for amaranth.  It takes a bit longer to make than porridge, oats or gram flour, so I cooked the amaranth the night before.

I’ve outlined the nutritional benefits of amaranth before.  A quick recap, they are high in protein, iron, magnesium, Vitamin E and fibre.  They have the second highest calcium level of any ‘grain’.

I put the amaranth into the slow cooker with some almond milk and a sprinkle of cinnamon and left it to cook.  In the morning I added a splash of water, banana and topped with cacao nibs.  On the side I had an egg white omelette with a touch of low fat pesto for flavour.

Amaranth porridge
Serves 1

  • 50g amaranth
  • 100ml almond milk
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 small banana 75g approx.
  • Cacao nibs to serve

Cook the amaranth according to the packet instructions using 100ml almond milk and making up to quantity with water.  This will probably take a minimum of 20 minutes.  Alternatively, place the almond milk and amaranth in a a slow cooker with the cinnamon and leave for 1-2 hours until all the liquid is absorbed and the grain is pulpy.  You can leave it overnight, or stir in your banana and cinnamon now and serve.  If reheating the next morning, add a dash of water and mash in your banana.  Reheat on the hob until hot through.

I’ve had this amaranth in my cupboard for ages, and don’t really know what to do with it.  Any suggestions…?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Amaranth porridge: vegan, gluten free

  1. Overnight Oats | memories & dust November 3, 2013 at 9:34 pm Reply

    […] Amaranth porridge: vegan, gluten free (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Amaranth porridge: vegan, gluten free (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

