Spiced pumpkin cake with Matcha green tea icing

matcha, green tea, cinnamon, ginger, cake, Halloween

Halloween pumpkin cakes

I tempted you over the weekend with my delicious Famous Spiced Pumpkin cake.  I say it’s famous because I’ve made it every year since 2002 when the recipe came in a free magazine.

I remember the first time I made it.  In those days my sister and I went line dancing with my Nanny and Grampy once a month.  We were the ‘stars of the show’ – particularly my younger sister.  You should have seen the way she taught the grannies to gyrate!

We had a bring and share supper, and I tried out this pumpkin cake recipe.  It went down so well!  Everyone kept asking for the recipe.

I kept the magazine, and the rest is history J

I’ve made the cake and taken to work, I’ve made it for my church housegroup, I take it round to friends and now I’ve served it at my party.

Over the years I’ve tried different combinations, I’ve used plain flour, wholemeal flour, rye and spelt flour.  I’ve made it with treacle, golden syrup or a combination of the two. I mix up the spices and quantities  Over the years I’ve tried adding whole eggs or separating and whisking the whites to add separately.  I’ve made cupcakes or one large square cake. I’ve iced it or served plain with a dusting of icing sugar.

pumpkin cake, cinnamon, spiceIt’s a great cake for parties because it gets better with keeping.  After a couple of days the cake goes gooey and moist and the flavours develop.  It’s also great warm and fresh out of the oven.

This weekend I made a couple of cakes; I sliced up one and served the pieces in cupcake cakes, and the other I served whole.  Of course I decorated Halloween style with matcha cheese icing and a dusting of crumbled oreo cookies and some jelly ghosts.

matcha, green tea, pumpkin, cake, iced, Halloween

Halloween pumpkin cake

Halloween Pumpkin Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 180C/350F/gas 4.  Grease and line a 20cm square tin
  2. Sift into a large bowl 250g (9oz) plain flour (or a combination of flours as above), 1tsp bicarbonate of soda, 1½ tsp mixed spice, ½ tsp cinnamon and ½ tsp ground nutmeg  (the recipe calls for 1tsp ground ginger, 1tsp ground mixed spice, and 1tsp ground cinnamon, but I‘ve used many variations)
  3. In a separate bowl, pour 125ml (4floz) boiling water and 125ml (4floz) treacle.
  4. Scoop and cube 150g (5.5 oz) pumpkin.  Place in a saucepan with 1tbsp water, cover and cook until soft, puree and cool.  (keep an eye on the pumpkin when cooking, they can vary in water content and while some cook really quickly, others need topping up with water)
  5. Beat 55g (2oz) softened butter (or cooking margarine) with 175g (6oz) caster sugar until light and fluffy.  Add one large egg (I have done it both by separating the egg, and whisking the white separately, and by just whisking in an egg – haven’t decided which produces a better result)
  6. Fold spoonfuls of the egg mixture into the flour with the treacle/syrup and pumpkin, stir until well combined
  7. Pour into the tin and cook for 45-50 mins until a skewer comes out clean (when I made it in cupcake cases it took 13 mins in Mum’s fan oven 15-20 in mine)
  8. Cool and cut into squares.  Sprinkle with icing sugar (you can be elaborate and do halloween shapes) or ice with matcha green tea icing.
  9. For the matcha green tea icing, add 1g of matcha powder to 125g cream cheese and 250g icing sugar and stir to combine.

Do you have any recipes that you come back to time and again?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Spiced pumpkin cake with Matcha green tea icing

  1. […] is the last October Halloween themed What I ate Wednesday from Peas and Crayons.  And because its Halloween tomorrow today’s theme is the food I served at my Halloween […]

Leave a Reply

