A week of … pumpkin

We don’t celebrate Halloween as much in the UK as over the border.  That may be a sweeping statement and times are changing.  You can tell just by the amount of stuff in the shops at the moment.

I went out and bought a selection of squashes from the Farmer’s Market.

pumpkins, uchiki kuri, squash, kabocha, I know we have a pumpkin, uchiki kuri (or red kuri), kabocha, but I can’t remember what the other one is.  Can anyone tell me?

I’ve got a couple of Halloween parties this weekend so I’ve been preparing some pumpkin goodies, practicing my carving and all manner of pumpkin related things.  So I thought I would show you a selection of pumpkin goodies.

pumpkin, cashew, curry, okra, pepper, I’m serving a vegan pumpkin and cashew curry this weekend, so I gave it a trial run.  Nice and mild so I don’t alienate anyone with a sensitive palate I added pea, okra and red pepper to pumpkin with a cashew and coconut base.

pumpkin, oat, seeds, gluten freeI saw a recipe for oat scones on Pinterest and thought I could give it a whirl with a pumpkin theme.  I have a friend who can’t eat yeast so this soda bread style loaf will go down a treat.  Quick and easy to make without worrying about proving the dough.

Pumpkin fudge, protein, Nutritionist in the kitchI was inspired by Nutritionist in the Kitch to try out some pumpkin protein fudge.  It wasn’t bad, but I think my pumpkin might have been too wet.  I used a carving pumpkin rather than an eating one.  When grown large they can contain more water than the smaller ones so are less flavourful.  The fudge keeps in the freezer and you thaw to eat.  Mine ended up with ice crystals, so I think I will have to try again.

pumpkin cake, cinnamon, spiceFinally my spiced pumpkin cake.  I got the recipe in a magazine in 2002 and I’ve made it every year since.  It always goes down well.  Spiced with cinnamon, ginger and a little mixed spice it is moist and gooey.  Crossed between carrot cake and ginger cake.  It is even better after a few days so I made mine ahead of the party.  Iced with matcha green tea cheese icing it will be great.

pumpkin cake, graveyard

pumpkin cake 2011

Here’s one I made earlier.  Ok so it is totally out of focus, but you get the idea 🙂

What have you been making with your pumpkin?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A week of … pumpkin

  1. veggiebentolove October 27, 2013 at 10:37 pm Reply

    The last year I lived in the UK was 1997, and Halloween was a non-event. I was there for 2001, and thought I was being really unusual by bringing my friend’s class a treat bag filled with Halloween pencils, erasers, and plastic spider rings for all the students. Nope – Halloween stuff was everywhere!

    • Emily Hawkes October 28, 2013 at 9:20 am Reply

      Ha! We always take longer to catch up in the South West 🙂

  2. […] can just see in the photo there is my pumpkin curry served in a carved out pumpkin and chilli con carne with rice – great Halloween and Bonfire […]

  3. […] last week’s ‘week of…’ post I showed you my Pumpkin Oat Scone.  I came across the idea on Pinterest.  They were oatmeal walnut raisin scones from p.s. […]

Leave a Reply

