Polenta quiche; vegetarian, gluten free

I didn’t really know what to call this.  I decided in the end that it is a quiche with a polenta crust.  It could have been a frittata, an eggy pizza, or half a tamale pie though 🙂

quiche, egg, pea, frittata, tamale, pie, gluten free

Especially as I read the Thug Kitchen Breakfast Tamale Pie while I ate my lunch.  I promise I made mine before I read the blog!

The great thing about using the polenta crust is that it is gluten free, and it is quick and easy to make the dough.

I flavoured my polenta crust with nutritional yeast, and filled it with peas and mozzarella before coating with the egg.

You could, of course, fill the quiche with whatever you choose.  My sister’s favourite quiche was tuna and sweetcorn.  Or, cheese and onion is a firm favourite.

quiche, polenta, bite, gluten free

apologies for the nasty nail varnish

I was out at an 80s night at the weekend, I painted my nails but we haven’t unpacked my nail varnish remover yet – sorry.

Polenta Quiche
Serves 1

  • 40g polenta
  • 10g nutritional yeast
  • 1 medium egg
  • 65g egg white
  • 50g frozen peas
  • 25g low fat mozzarella
  1. Combine the polenta and nutritional yeast and cook according to the packet instructions.
  2. Pour into round waterproof pan (I used a loose bottomed pan and ended up with egg in my oven – yay!)
  3. Place in an oven at 190C for 20-25 minutes until set and starting to go crispy on top
  4. Add your vegetables – I used frozen peas but you could use peppers, carrots, beans – anything you happen to have really
  5. Beat the egg and egg white and pour over the vegetables, top with the shredded mozarella and bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until the egg is set and the cheese is going golden.
  6. Slice and serve wedges hot or cold with a salad

What is your favourite quiche filling?  If you are a vegan, what would you use to replace the egg?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Polenta quiche; vegetarian, gluten free

  1. Ani October 25, 2013 at 1:18 pm Reply

    Huh I have never heard of a polenta crust, but it looks fantastic!! How many eggs make up 65g egg whites?

    • Emily Hawkes October 28, 2013 at 9:21 am Reply

      I use egg white out of a tetra pack, but it’s about 1 whole medium egg, or two egg whites. Use however much egg white takes your fancy. xx

  2. […] Polenta quiche; vegetarian, gluten free (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

