Boozy pumpkin chelsea buns

rum, pumpkin, chelsea bun, cinnamon bun, bun,

My colleague recently came back from holiday and was telling me about these amazing Chelsea buns that she had.  Full of fruit with a drizzle of icing.  If you follow my facebook page you might have seen that I was in a dilemma whether to use my last yeast for making Chelsea buns or pretzels.

Well, in the end the Chelsea buns won out.

I decided to give them a twist by putting some roasted pumpkin in the filling, and adding some spiced rum to make them extra decadent.

It was the first effort baking in my new oven. I don’t think it gets so hot as my last oven though – things seem to take a bit longer.  I need to get an oven thermometer to give it a try.

I set aside a full day to get these done.  I made the dough in the morning, and then went out while it proved for the first time.  I enjoyed giving the dough a good knead until it went from sticky, wet and lumpy to a smooth dough.

cheslea, dough, bun, proving

proving

The perspective is a bit off so you can’t really see the difference in size.  The kitchen was quite warm as I had been using the oven in the morning, so I did get some rise.  I’m not sure if it rose enough though.

I let the fruit soak in the rum and sugar while the dough proved.  Then I knocked back the dough and rolled it out to cover it in a layer of butter and the fruit.

filling, chelsea, bun, raisin, rum, cherry

chelsea bun filling

I rolled it up – my second favourite part after the kneading. Sliced and placed the buns in a cake tin for the second proving.

chelsea bun, proving,

second proving

I think this is where it cake unstuck, you can see that they have risen a little, but I think the kitchen had cooled down and I didn’t get enough rise out of them the second time.  They were nice, but not as good as the perfectionist in me would have liked.

They still went down a treat at work though 🙂

Boozy Pumpkin Chelsea Buns

  • 500g white bread flour
  • 100ml semi skimmed milk
  • 40g unsalted butter
  • 7g fast action yeast
  • 1 medium egg
  • 50g glace cherries
  • 75g sultanas
  • 2tbsp spiced rum (optional)
  • 40g soft brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 50g cooked pumpkin flesh
  1. Combine the bread flour with the yeast.  Make a well in the centre of the ingredients.
  2. Gently heat the milk and half the butter until melted.  Allow to cool to lukewarm.
  3. Beat the egg into the milk mixture.  Pour into the flour.
  4. Vigorously combine.  If the mixture won’t come together (mine wouldn’t) add more liquid, I added a bit more milk and some warm water. You want it all to come together to produce a soft dough.  I would err on the side of sticky over too dry.
  5. Knead the dough on a floured surface for 5 minutes until the dough is smooth and no longer sticky.
  6. Place the dough in a clean, oiled bowl and cover loosely with oiled cling film. Leave in a warm place for 1 hour until the dough has doubled in size.
  7. Meanwhile combine the pumpkin, sultanas, cinnamon, rum, and brown sugar and leave to one side.
  8. Once the dough has risen, knock it back and roll out on a lightly floured surface to a rectangle 1/2 cm thick.
  9. Melt the remaining butter and brush over the dough.  Spread the filling over the surface and roll up tightly from the long edge.
  10. Cut into 8 pieces and place in a circular pan.  Cover with a tea towel and leave in a warm place for 45 minutes to allow for a second rise.
  11. Cook in an oven preaheated to 190C for 20-25 minutes until golden and risen.
  12. Remove from the oven and leave to cool.  Drizzle with honey or royal icing.

What would your favourite filling be in your ideal Chelsea bun?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

