Co Yo Review, and gluten free, vegan overnight oats

Our local health food shop got in some Co Yo.  I’ve wanted to try it for some time after reading about it a lot on other blogs, but I’ve not been able to get it down here in Devon.

So when I saw it in the fridge, I snapped it up quick!

co yo

The ingredients are: 98.66% coconut milk, Xylitol (you’ve heard about that on my blog before – good for the teeth), tapioca starch and probiotic cultures.

I talk regularly about substituting vegan probiotics in my recipes, now I have some so I can try it too.  Well, maybe occasionally as it’s a premium price product.  £1.99 for 125g of yoghurt is a bit pricey – but I’ll do that for you, for the sake of a review.

Oh and the sake of my taste buds and tummy, of course 🙂

So how does it stack up nutritionally?

100g of Co Yo contains: 165 calories, 2.33g protein, 17.6g fat of which 12.9g are saturated, 5.7g Carbohydrate of which 2.2g are sugars, 5mg sodium and 0.5g fibre.

The high fat content – particularly saturates -would have been enough to put me off in the past.  There’s more saturated fat in (not a whole) pot than I would have had over a few days!

But now I’m all about the moderation.  I can have this once in a while, and for the rest of the day I will be mindful of the fats I eat.  I might have some avocado with my lunch, but not nuts for a snack; if I have fish, I might choose tuna over a tin of sardines.

Fans of coconut oil will know that coconut is really good for you.  Coconut oil is anti-fungal, anti-inflammatory and is great to cook with because it doesn’t change structure as you heat it.  I like to think I will get the same (ok not the cooking bit) benefits from the coconut yoghurt.

Coconut contains Medium Chain Fatty Acids, which you don’t get in many foods. These fats are actually easier for our bodies to digest, and more likely to be used for energy than stored.

More reasons for eating good fats:  Fat fills you up; you eat fat and your appetite is switched off.  I’m sure there’s something in the mouth-feel too.  It was luxurious and creamy, and didn’t leave me feeling like I wanted to pick at stuff in the kitchen – I just got on with my day.

See more about the benefits of coconut from Sarah Wilso.

One thing that did make me chuckle about the packaging is that it states that 1 portion is 100g, yet the tub contains 125g – or as they put it 1.25 servings!  Why?!  As if you think, oh, I’ll just eat 4/5ths of this and leave the rest until tomorrow, when I must eat 1/5th of this one and 3/5ths of another.  It doesn’t make sense!

But that aside, I think I would have it again, but the fat content and the price mean it is definitely a ‘moderation’ ingredient in my house!

co yo, overnight oats, squash, oats, yogurt, probiotic

co yo overnight oats

Co Yo overnight oats

  • 40g jumbo oats
  • 50-60g cooked squash
  • 1 small banana (about 75g)
  • 100g Co Yo coconut milk yogurt

Roughly mash the squash and banana with a fork, and stir in the oats.  Add a few tablespoons of water to make it moist.  Stir in about half of the coconut yogurt.  Add spices to your liking – I used cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.  Leave overnight.  In the morning top with the remaining coconut yogurt and enjoy with a herbal tea.

Have you tried coconut yogurt?  Would the high fat content put you off?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Co Yo Review, and gluten free, vegan overnight oats

  1. cailinceol October 22, 2013 at 9:45 am Reply

    i eat the berry one but I’m really not that keen on it!

    • Emily Hawkes October 22, 2013 at 10:29 am Reply

      I’ve only seen the plain one, but I live in the deepest darkest Devon. Is it the berry flavour, or the coconut yogurt that puts you off? Just curious 😀

      • cailinceol October 23, 2013 at 8:52 am

        I think it’s the coconut yogurt I don’t like – which is odd because I LOVE coconut milk and coconut ice cream!!

      • Emily Hawkes October 24, 2013 at 7:46 am

        That is strange, maybe it’s more sour?

      • cailinceol October 28, 2013 at 8:41 am

        I think that’s it!

  2. shinygreenlife October 23, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

    I love this! The chocolate is my fave but I like the berry one too. It is pretty high in saturated fat but I look on it as a treat. Its so yummy with strawberries & topped wit hemp seeds.

    • Emily Hawkes October 24, 2013 at 7:45 am Reply

      Mmm, I bet it would be good with chocolate. Definitely a treat rather than an everyday staple for me 🙂

  3. […] followed it with a tub of Co Yo coconut yogurt. Yum! it was like eating very tasty coconut snow. I had to laugh because it says it […]

  4. […] (beta-carotene – vegetable Vitamin A, etc) are absorbed by the body.  I indulged in some Co Yo – this time I found the vanilla flavoured version – […]

Leave a Reply

