Vegetable samosas, vegan

It was vegetarian night, and I wanted to make something different for Ben.  Actually, he is much better than he once was and doesn’t need to eat meat all the time.  He is a bit fussy when it comes to veg though.

I had some of the filo (phyllo) pastry left from the low fat pies I made before, so I decided I would make some ‘healthy’ samosas.

Normally fried, I baked mine in the oven with a spritz of oil, and they still came out crunchy and yummy!  I served them with salad and dips

vegetable, vegetarian, filo, phyllo, samosaI filled them with a homemade vegetable curry – you can choose whatever filling you like.  It’s a good way of hiding those vegetables that you kids (or husband) won’t eat.

I base all my vegetarian curries on lentils (usually red split lentils) and tomatoes, and then add in a variety of other veg depending on what I have in the house.

Good curry fillings include:

  • Carrots
  • Peas
  • Tinned sweetcorn
  • Small pieces of broccoli
  • Small cauliflower florets
  • Aubergine
  • Courgette
  • Squash

Wow, the variety is endless.

samosa, open, curry, pastry

doesn’t that look good?!

The spices are endless as well.  There are so many great spice mixes out there – or you can make your own. Add in some sweet chutney to balance out the spiciness.

I made the curry, allowed it to cool, and then got to making the samosas.  With the recognisable triangular shape they were good fun to make.  I wonder if you could have a samosa party – bring your own curry and make and bake them together (or maybe I’m tired and have been cleaning too much and my mind has gone nutso).

Slice the pastry sheets into 4, spritz with oil and simply follow the images below:

samosa, vegetarian, vegan, curry

oops, sorry for the quality of the last photo

Spritz the made samosa with a bit more oil, and bake in the oven at 190C for 20-25minutes, or until golden and cooked.

They would work as a side, as a snack, as dinner, or leftovers for lunch.  Yum!

Just gauging opinion – is a samosa party a terrible idea?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Vegetable samosas, vegan

  1. […] vegan samosas – I did a samosa tutorial before.  This time I used Mountain bread rice wraps as the ‘pastry’.  I love the […]

Leave a Reply

