Uchiki kuri, vegan, gluten free

uchiki kuri, squash

uchiki kuri

I picked this up at the Farmer’s Market.  I like to try something new, so I picked a new squash.  I asked the lady what it was, and then asked her to repeat it!

“U-chicky-curry, u-chicky-curry”

I repeated to myself as I walked back to work.  I looked it up on the internet.  Also known as a Red Kuri squash, or a chestnut squash.

I roasted it like I would any other squash

uchiki kuri, squash

I cut it in half and scooped out the seeds.  Place cut side down on a baking tray and put in the oven for 45minutes-1 hour at about 180C.

It does taste like chestnut!  Like when you roast chestnuts and they go crumbly.

I used the squash in several recipes.  It was great over a salad, in soup, and porridge:

porridge, squash, uchiki kuri, breakfast

Breakfast: uchicki kuri squash porridge

YUM!

What is your favourite squash?  This one rates highly for me!

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Uchiki kuri, vegan, gluten free

  1. veganmiam.com October 19, 2013 at 1:14 pm Reply

    Isn’t the name cute?! I’ve tried a globe squash in Buenos Aires!

    • Emily Hawkes October 21, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

      It’s great 🙂 How was the globe squash?

  2. […] so although it was massive I thought I would give it a go.  Cooked up the same way as I did my uchiki kuri squash.  I read that it is similiar to butternut squash but less sweet and a creamier texture.  So what […]

  3. […] I roasted half a spaghetti squash, as I have done numerous other squashes now.  Cut in half, scoop out the seeds (I know, I know I should try to roast them, I just […]

  4. […] step by step instructions see my Uchki Kuri post, or check out this summary from Organic […]

  5. […] 200g cooked pumpkin or squash flesh – I used uchiki kuri […]

Leave a Reply

