Chia breakfast pudding, gluten free, vegan

Hi guys

I’d just like to make a big public shout out to our wonderful families who have helped us with the big move this weekend.  We’d never have managed it without you, and all your help is gratefully received!

Readers of my blog, you’ll have to bear with me for a while, I don’t have broadband at the house.  I’m still ‘toing and froing’ to the flat to tidy and clean before we hand back the keys, so I’ll try to stay on top of it.

I’ve spent a couple of nights in the new house, and it’s starting to feel like home now that our stuff is in.

So a quick post about my chia pudding.  I just needed to prove that I can take a nice picture of chia pudding!

chia, breakfast, pudding, If you saw my first week of breakfasts post, you may have been in doubt.

breakfast, chia, pudding,

bit blurry

Chia seeds are nutritious: high in protein and rich in omega 3 fatty acids.  Claims are made that it has more omega 3 than salmon – but I imagine I will eat a larger potion of salmon than I will chia seeds.  But they are a great vegan alternative – or for those (like Ben) who won’t eat oily fish.

Chia are also high in fibre with 41.2g of fibre per 100g.  You will also get 714mg calcium and 16.4mg iron.

To make this chia pudding, I soaked 30g chia seeds in unsweetened almond milk overnight.  When I went to take it out of the fridge had soaked up the milk and jellified.   I stirred in half a mashed banana, a teaspoon vanilla bean paste and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  I topped it with some buckwheat groats and slices of banana.

Anyway, I guess I’d better get back to scrubbing the oven.

See you soon!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

