A week of…pomegranate

I couldn’t decide whether to cover breakfasts or lunches this week.  I guess I could have charted my dinners instead, but I bought some beautiful pomegranates so I wanted to show them off.

pomegranate

pomegranate

My sister and I used to love eating pomegranates in autumn/winter.  The beautiful ruby red jewels felt like a real treat.  In fact, Mum used eat hers after we had gone to bed, or we would be sat watching, pleading with our eyes.

So when I saw some selling off, I knew I had to take a break from my daily banana and enjoy some pomegranates.

The bonus is that you don’t feel short changed by eating half, and saving half until later.  So here you go, some of the delicious uses I’ve put my pomegranates to this last week.

BREAKFAST

chia breakfast pudding, pomegranate

chia breakfast pudding

I started the week with pomegranate over chia breakfast pudding made with a probiotic yogurt drink.  Topped with a sprinkle of buckwheat groats and a teaspoon of smooth peanut butter.

socca, chickpea, breakfast, pancakes, matcha

sweet socca pancakes

I had two socca pancakes, which really came together well on this occasion.  I meant to put matcha green tea in the mixture, but forgot until the end, hence the green splodges, it’s not mould!  Sunflower seed butter sandwiched between, and topped with cacao nibs, pomegranate and a little yogurt on the side.

porridge

pomegranate porridge

I made porridge with oats, a spoonful of ground linseed (flaxseed) and cottage cheese.  I topped it with smooth peanut butter, pomegranate and cashew nuts.

Turkish, rice pudding, rosewater, cottage cheese

pomegranate rice pudding

I made a ‘rice pudding’ with cottage cheese and rice, and flavoured it with vanilla bean paste and rosewater.  I stirred in pomegranate, and topped with sunflower seed butter and cacao nibs.

SNACKS

pomegranate snack, yogurt, oats

pomegranate snack

I had several variations on the yogurts and pomegranate theme.  Served with oats…

pomegranate, yogurt, yoghurt, tea, buckwheat

pomegranate snack

or a cup of tea and buckwheat groats.  (Yep, ipod photo at work)

DINNER

zen bowl, egg, quinoa, tomato, spinach

zen bowl

remember my Zen bowls?  I made this one with quinoa, curried egg, tomato, and spinach.  topped with avocado and pomegranate.  The jar contains miso paste.

pomegranate, quinoa, salad,

pomegranate quinoa salad

This quinoa salad had tempeh cubes, mushrooms, spinach, soya (edamame) beans and, of course, pomegranate.  You can see I topped it with homemade hummus I nabbed from my snack.

So there you go.  Pomegranate for a week – yum!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A week of…pomegranate

  1. rika@veganmiam October 13, 2013 at 11:25 am Reply

    I remembered picking a pomegranate from a tree in Sagunt, Spain that summer…and it was really cool to see pomegranate trees for the first time and now it is making me miss Spain more!

    • Emily Hawkes October 14, 2013 at 1:23 pm Reply

      I remember seeing pomegranate trees when I went to Italy – they were out of season at the time though so I didn’t get to try a freshly picked one.

  2. health advocation October 13, 2013 at 6:23 pm Reply

    wow sounds delicous, i love the combos you made!

    • Emily Hawkes October 14, 2013 at 1:24 pm Reply

      Thanks for your kind comment. Hope you get to enjoy more of my ideas. x

Leave a Reply

