WIAW: eating more

what i ate wednesday october breast cancer awareness halloween buttonHere for another installment of What I Ate Wednesday.  Jenn has given us the added challenge in October of raising awareness of Breast Cancer with a Halloween Snack and Treat compliation.  You can find a couple of examples at the bottom of the page.

Regular blog readers might have noticed that my portion sizes have been getting a bit bigger…?

I eat a balanced diet with carbs, protein and good fats.  BUT my portion sizes do tend to be a bit on the small side.  Now, I’m only small, so I don’t need ‘man-sized’ portions, but I came across this awesome Macro calculator at IIFYM.com (If it fits your macros)

You can work out your BMR (basal metabolic rate – or how many calories your body requires to run, at rest).  It adds in your exercise calories, and gives you a recommended calorie depending on whether you are looking to lose, maintain or gain.  It then gives you a breakdown (if you require) of how much of your diet should be made up of protein, fat and carbohydrates.

I love the detail – I can get on board with this.

Now calorie counting isn’t for everyone, and I’m not sure I would recommend it as a long term tool.  It can get a bit addictive, and you can lose sight of healthy food, in favour of that which is low calorie, which isn’t always healthy.

I also think that calorie counting can confuse, and distract you from recognising your true hunger signals.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, IIFYM showed me that I wasn’t eating enough.  Their guidelines per person are

  • 1g of protein per pound of body weight
  • 0.4g of fat per pound of body weight
  • the rest of your calories to be made up of carbohydrate

So, what did I eat?

WIAW, breakfast, banana cheesecake, ricotta, bananaI started my day with a ‘banana cheesecake’ – I used Pura Vida Raw Living chocolate bread (as seen previously on my blog) and topped with ricotta cheese, mashed banana and cashew nuts.  On the side, I had a 0% fat probiotic yogurt and my mint and liquorice hot chocolate.

WIAW, snack, yogurt, tea, buckwheatThe breakfast filled me up, but I get up and eat breakfat at about 6am, so by mid morning I was peckish.  I had some Greek yogurt with raw buckwheat groats for crunch and a cup of tea on the side.

WIAW, lunch, fritters, vegetarianI made some mega vegetable fritters for lunch, made with oats, egg and extra egg white and vegetables.  On the side I had a salad of lettuce (It was the centre of the lettuce so it’s a bit yellow :-/) and radishes.  In the little jar is a teaspoon of live miso paste.  I stirred it into some hot (not boiling) water and had miso soup on the side.

WIAW, snack, bounce I was exercising in the evening, so I had a snack on the train home. All for me???, Oh yes, because it fit my macros! Oh yeah!

WIAW, dinner, stuffed courgette, What I ate Wednesday, mince, riceWhen I got home from the gym I had a nice balanced meal to help with my recover.  I had courgette stuffed with extra lean minced beef, chopped tomatoes, and red rice – just for a change – I topped it with a babybel light.  On the side I had steamed cauliflower.

For me this was a huge day of food!  I was spot on with my macros.  I didn’t quite reach my calorie target, but I was much closer than I have been for a long time.

So there you have it.

Do you count calories?  Do you find it helpful, or a distraction?

And now for my Halloween snacks.  I tried my first attempt at making fingers and slime

carrots, halloween, snack, guacamole, avocado

Witches fingers and slime

Yes, carrot fingers with homemade guacamole and a drizzle of sriracha sauce – yummy 😉

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “WIAW: eating more

  1. Juli October 9, 2013 at 12:59 pm Reply

    I have a problems with my portion sizes too because I tend to eat little portions. They always look huge to me though. I need to count calories because if I didn’t I would not eat enough. A little annoying but I feel better with it.

    • Emily Hawkes October 9, 2013 at 2:49 pm Reply

      Hi Juli. Thanks for your comment. I totally know what you mean!

  2. catfoodisgoodforyou October 9, 2013 at 8:06 pm Reply

    It’s official: I want everything you just ate. Love the stuffed courgette especially! I personally don’t count calories (I have done, just think it doesn’t make a difference either way) but recently I’ve been interested in macros so I have been tracking on myfitnesspal. Will check out iifym though! I think it’s a temporary solution to being aware of what you’re getting, def not something to get rigid about I’ve learned.

    • Emily Hawkes October 10, 2013 at 9:46 am Reply

      Hey. Thanks for your kind words about the food! Interested to hear your take on calories and macros and I agree that flexibility is important.

  3. Molly October 31, 2013 at 1:48 am Reply

    Sorry I have never seen your blog before- lovely meals-
    But this is not a lot of food generally speaking- don’t be afraid to eat more, those stupid magazines that recommend 1200-1500 calories a day are just that “stupid” and irresponsible. We need enough to fuel out bodies and minds, I think it’s great you are trying to eat more. 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes October 31, 2013 at 8:36 am Reply

      Bless you for your comment. I appreciate it. There’s so much false information out there!

  4. […] I discovered my lean body mass, and fat percentage last week.  So I looked at how this affects my Macros.  I told you about IIFYM (If it fits your macros) in my Eating More blog post. […]

Leave a Reply

