Socca So Good: vegan, gluten free

*updated*

Do you see what I did there?  Socca – so far…?  Nevermind.

Angela has come up trumps again with another amazing recipe which will revolutionise my meals.

I tried socca before – gluten free bread (!!!) – I was on it.  BUT, then I was very disappointed by it.  I eventually used up my bag of gram flour making onion bhajis for Ben.

But then Angela made such a beautiful Jumbo chickpea pancake, that I just had to give it another go.

I went out and bought a new bag of gram (chickpea) flour, and I was away.

chickpea flour, gram flour, soccaAnd away I was!

I made pancakes for breakfast, lunch and dinner!  Ok, not all in the same day, but I managed to use the base recipe to make three amazing meals!

Angela recommended using baking powder – I forgot, and actually it didn’t need it – it was fine without.

*update*

I have since made them with a pinch of bicarbonate of soda – and they are sooo much better!  They were great without, but they are a-maz-ing with just a little pinch to really get the air in there!

Socca chickpea pancake

  • 45g gram flour
  • pinch bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 cup of water plus 1 tbsp – 75ml approx
  • 75g banana for sweet, vegetables for savoury – I used kale or peas and red pepper
  • flavourings depending on sweet or savoury
  1. Prepare your fruit or vegetables
  2. With a fork mix together the gram flour and water.  Beat it well to ensure no clumps remain.
  3. Add the vegetables to a hot frying pan – it should have been heating while you beat the batter – didn’t I say that?
  4. Pour over the batter and ensure it covers the pan evenly
  5. Cook for about 5-6 minutes until you can see bubbles forming on the top.
  6. Flip pancake carefully and cook for another 5 minutes, until lightly golden.

So what did I flavour my socca with?

banana, socca, gram flour, chickpea flour, breakfast, sweetI cooked off some banan slices until starting to caramelise, then poured over the batter flavoured with vanilla bean paste and cinnamon.  I served with peanut butter and a sprinkle of cacao nibs.socca, breakfast, banana, sweet, Up close you can see it is thicker and denser than a typical pancake or crepe.

socca lunch, chickpea flour, gram flour, kale, cheeseFor my lunch socca, I steamed some kale (It WAS Kale Day!).  I chopped it up into bitesized pieces and added it to the frying pan.  Once cooked I topped it with homemade guacamole, stringy cheese and sliced tomato.  I folded it in half and packed it in a toaster bag.  When lunch came round (I was at work) I popped it in the toaster long enough to heat it through and melt the cheese – YUM!

socca dinner, tempeh, gram flour, chickpea flourThis was actually my first socca.  I flavoured the batter with some garlic powder and some of my Halzephron herbs.  I cooked red pointed pepper and peas in the frying pan and added the batter to that.  I served it with tempeh on the side, topped with guacamole, grilled mushrooms and tomato slices.  This is the recipe that made me fall in love with socca.

Have you tried socca?  Which would be your favourite toppings?  Any other topping suggestions?

Have you ever gone back to a recipe and found it to be a favourite the second time around?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Socca So Good: vegan, gluten free

  1. Espirational October 4, 2013 at 12:36 pm Reply

    I have not tried socca — yet. But I think I may have to now.

    • Emily Hawkes October 4, 2013 at 1:04 pm Reply

      Hi – thanks for your comment. Definitely give it a go. The socca was really easy and great if you are gluten free!

  2. […] trying them in the past I had relegated them to ‘never try again’ but then I found this recipe and now they’ve become one of my favourite […]

  3. […] was up early (as ever) so I made myself a chickpea pancake with gram flour, and topped it with a poached egg, and cooked tomatoes on the side.  Served with […]

  4. […] make your savoury socca.  50g of chickpea flour and a pinch of bicarbonate of soda should do the trick for 3 mini […]

  5. […] socca chickpea bread, to serve […]

  6. […] made up for it at lunch with a socca.  I’ve not had one of these chickpea omelettes for ages so it was nice – but as you can see it didn’t cook so well.  I put peas and […]

  7. […] written of my love for socca/gram flour pancakes before, and I revived them to make the base for my […]

Leave a Reply

