Ratatouille: vegan, gluten free

Have you ever seen the file Ratatouille, from Disney Pixar?  I love a good Disney film 🙂

Cover of

Cover of Ratatouille [Blu-ray]

In the film, they make a ratatouille for the evil restaurant critic and…well, I won’t spoil the end for you 😀

Anyway, the ratatouille they make is a pile of cooked fresh vegetables – and it looks beautiful.  Nothing like the ‘mush’ of tomatoes, aubergine and courgettes that you often see sold as ratatouille.

I know, I know – it’s a cartoon.  So I didn’t think too much on it.

Until, that is, I saw this post from danielle levy nutrition in my Finding Vegan feed on Facebook.  (While I mention Facebook – have you checked out my page?)

Oh my gosh – how beautiful is this???RatatouilleSo I decided to give it a go.

I had to use the ‘best’ ingredients, so I used the organic aubergine I bought, the courgette from my colleague’s Dad’s garden 🙂 and some organic tomatoes I bought from the supermarket, especially for the dish.

Ben won’t eat it, so that’s 3 1/2 of my 5 a day all in one hit – fab!

aubergine, tomato, courgette, onion, ratatouille

ratatouille ingredients

I used my mandoline to slice up my vegetables.  Then I gave up and used a knife.  I usually get Ben to mandoline for me, but he was busy 😦

ratatouille

Ok, so not as beautiful as Danielle’s, but I was happy!

Ratatouille

  • 80g aubergine/eggplant, thinly sliced
  • 80g courgette/zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 100g fresh tomatoes, thinly sliced
  • 40g (1/2 a medium) onion, thinly sliced
  • garlic and your favourite dried herbs
  • drizzle olive oil (optional)

It really is as easy as preheating the oven, layering the veg, sprinkling with herbs and baking in the oven with a drizzle of oil if desired. You want stages, ok:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C
  2. Spritz your baking tin or casserole dish with low calorie spray
  3. Layer up your vegetables
  4. sprinkle with your favourite dried herbs – I used my Halzephron Tuscan herbs – and some sliced or crushed garlic
  5. drizzle with olive oil if using.
  6. bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until the vegetables are cooked to your liking – I like them just slightly going brown.
  7. Serve on it’s own, or as a side dish.

ratatouille, sweet potato, chicken

Have you ever been inspired to cook something from a film?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Ratatouille: vegan, gluten free

  1. sanjapanja October 1, 2013 at 9:33 am Reply

    When me and my daughter watched the movie we decided to it would be fun to cook it together, but we never came around to actually do it. So this post was a great reminder!

    • Emily Hawkes October 1, 2013 at 9:55 am Reply

      Hey Sanja – good to meet you 🙂 Glad the post came in useful. Let me know how it goes…

      • sanjapanja October 1, 2013 at 10:07 am

        I’ll let you know when we have cooked it. Maybe next week.

  2. […] Ratatouille (aubergine, zucchini, onion and tomatoes). Inspired by: Emily at it comes naturally blog. Me and my daughter were supposed to cook it together, but my daughter preferred to watch the movie […]

  3. sanjapanja October 13, 2013 at 5:48 am Reply

    It’s on my blog now!

    • Emily Hawkes October 14, 2013 at 1:22 pm Reply

      Great, thanks Sanja. I’ll check it out!

Leave a Reply

