A week of breakfasts; gluten free, vegan options

I’ve given you a week of lunches the last couple of weeks, so I thought I would change things up with a week of breakfasts this week.

I was told in the week, that I’m always brimming with energy.  Said person put it down to my age – being one of the youngest in the office.  But I think it’s as much to do with the yummy breakfasts that I have to start my day.

I always eat breakfast, and I always eat within an hour of waking to make sure my metabolism is boosted.  I like a good bowl of oats – overnight oats or porridge, but I also like to change things up.  So here is my week of breakfasts:

I’d never had a chia pudding before.  I’ve seen them on various blogs including Oh She glows and Sarah Wilson, but I thought chia seeds were too high fat to have as a meal on their own.  But I was wrong – as long as you eat fat within moderation, it’s all good!

breakfast, chia, pudding,

Monday breakfast

Ok, so my eyes were clearly a bit blurry on Monday morning.  Check out this gorgeous post on Culinary Colleen of what a chia pudding should look like.

Mine was topped with strawberries for sweetness and pecan nuts for crunch.

tofu scramble, porridge, strawberry,

Tuesday breakfast

Tuesdays’ breakfast was porridge made with almond milk and linseed, topped with strawberries and buckwheat groats.  On the side I made tofu scramble with a dash of mild curry powder and a tiny dribble of sriracha sauce.  A totally vegan breakfast – but I think this was a bit much for my digestive system to cope with first thing in the morning: I had a really gurgly tummy afterwards – oops.

overnight oats, omelette, yoghurt

Wednesday breakfast

I learned my lesson, and by Wednesday I had overnight oats, made with oats, probiotic yogurt drink and half a discovery apple.

Have you seen discovery apples?  My colleague bought me in one to try – he told me they have pink flesh, but I was still surprised!

discovery apple

discovery apple

In the morning I topped the overnight oats with yogurt and cacao nibs for crunch and served it alongside a 1 egg and egg white omelette on the side.  My tummy coped better with this one.

On Thursday I made a ‘healthy breakfast cheesecake’ 🙂

healthy, chocolate, banana, cheesecake, breakfast

Thursday breakfast

I topped a piece of Raw Living Chocolate bread with some mashed banana and ricotta cheese. I popped it in the oven for a few minutes to soften the bread and make it a bit easier to chew.  I topped it with a sprinkle of buckwheat and cacao nibs, and had some healthy mint cocoa on the side.

On Friday I had some chocolate pancakes with the rest of the discovery apple, grilled, on the side with a sprinkle of cinnamon – YUM!

breakfast, chocolate pancakes, apple, cinnamon, yogurt

Friday breakfast

So that’s what my breakfasts looked like.

And as I usually share my farmer’s market purchases on these summary posts:

kale, aubergine, squash, golden beetroot

Farmer’s Market

I decided I wanted to try one of the funky long aubergines, two bags of different types of kale, a squash – I think this is a Delicata squash, as seen on Oh She Glows – and the last golden beetroot.  I love to try something different.

Of course, I still have some goodies left over from my lovely colleague, so I don’t think I will be going hungry this week!

veg, present

from my colleague

He also brought me some cucumbers

What did you have for breakfast?  Do you have a favourite, or do you like to change it up?  Do you know anyone who shares their produce with you?  Good, isn’t it!

3 thoughts on “A week of breakfasts; gluten free, vegan options

  1. shinygreenlife September 30, 2013 at 11:24 am Reply

    I start off with a vegan protein shake before exercising then today I followed my swim with a chocolate chia oats with diced banana & toasted coconut flakes – it was yum and was a nice treat on a Monday 🙂 I know what you mean about the fat/calories though – it was a pretty big chunk out of my daily calorie allowance but it should keep me full til well after lunch. Those apples look gorgeous – I’ve never seen them before!

    • Emily Hawkes September 30, 2013 at 8:17 pm Reply

      Thanks for stopping by. Your breakfast sounds good. Apparently the apples are an old English variety.

  2. […] you saw my first week of breakfasts post, you may have been in […]

Leave a Reply

