Low carb, gluten free brownies

Hey, you!  Yes, you!

I’ve got you a present…

present

You’re welcome!

Have you checked out my Pinterest It Comes Naturally board??

I came across these amazing brownies on Pinterest.

low carb, gluten free, chocolate, brownies, I came across Foodie Fiasco’s Amazing low carb brownies.  Claiming to be less than 300 calories per tray, I had to check it out!

The trick is hat Kelly used xylitol.  It just happened that I had some in the back of my cupboard that I hadn’t opened yet.

xylitol Sarah Wilson called xylitol “one of the few safe alcohol sugars”.

It is made from birch trees and has a number of healthy benefits:

  • it is good for the teeth as it reduces bacterial growth and cavities.
  • it is good those with diabetes.
  • it received the highest and safest acceptable daily intake rating in a study in 1986.
  • it has 40% less calories than sugar.

I don’t think it tastes quite like sugar, but it makes a change, and can be considered a ‘natural’ ingredient.

gluten free, brownies, chocolate

Low carb, gluten free, healthy chocolate brownie

  • 150g granulated xylitol
  • 55g ground almonds
  • 40g raw cacao powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder (gluten free)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 120ml egg white – or 3 tbsp ground linseed (flaxseed) made up with 12 tbsp water
  • 1 small or 75g mashed banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  1. Preheat oven to 180C
  2. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and combine
  3. Pour into a prepared baking tin
  4. Bake in the oven for 35-45 minutes until the cake has set, and is solid to the touch. The slice looks darker because I had to put it back in the oven because it wasn’t quite cooked through.  While I like a gooey brownie, I don’t want it to be runny!

So how did it measure up on the calorie stakes?

Well, for about 1000 calories for the recipe, I’m not sure where I went wrong! Nutritional information for the recipe according to MyFitnessPal:

Calories: 996Carbs: 196g
Sugar: 13g
Fat: 32g
Protein: 36g

But if you chop it into 10 squares, it’s only 100 calories a slice and less than 20g carbs and approx 1.3g sugars, so not bad 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Low carb, gluten free brownies

  1. […] used xylitol in my healthy chocolate brownies.  It is has 40% less calories than sugar, is great for avoiding blood sugar spikes so is good for […]

Leave a Reply

