Lower fat lamb pie

Ooh, thunder and lightening, very, very frightening 🙂

No, I’m not scared, but there is a thunderstorm going on outside my window.  When I’m feeling safe, I’m quite happy to move the laptop towards the window so I can watch.

When I was little and staying with my Nanny, if there was a thunderstorm we would sit in the stairs and watch the lightening through the window at the bottom of the stairs.

Just for the added comfort while I watch the lightening, I’ve made myself a nice comforting bowl of chia and banana porridge – yummy!  Topped with buckwheat and almond butter.

oats, almond butter, milk, porridge, comfort food, buckwheat, almond butter

comforting porridge

Now, while we are talking comfort food, someone commented that I like to ‘experiment’ and I don’t eat ‘normal’ food, so here you are.  A lamb pie for all you ‘traditionalists’ out there!

I took a leaf out of the Hairy Bikers ‘book’ (I don’t have their book, I watched their tv show and they featured in my Healthy Food Guide magazine) and used filo/phyllo pastry for the topping.

This pastry has 144 calories per sheet (43g) and 1.3g of fat, of which 0.1 saturates.  In comparison, a serving of shortcrust pastry (50g) is 280 calories and 19.2g of fat, of which 6.8g saturates. So an upgrade in the health stakes.

I noticed mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids in the ingredients lists of the shortcrust pastry – meaning the worst trans fats.  Now you will avoid that by making your own, but unless it’s a special occasion I do tend to revert to bought in. It’s not listed for the filo/phyllo pastry – WIN!

I gave Ben the option of chicken and stuffing, chicken and sweetcorn or lamb pie,  as you can tell from the title of the post – he went for the lamb pie 🙂

lamb pie, pie, low fat pie,

lamb pie filling

I started by preheating the oven to 190C and making the pie filling – I softened and browned some onions in a non-stick frying pan.  Add the cubed lamb – or filling of your choice. Don’t move the meat around too much, just allow it to seal on each side – i.e. when it starts to cook and changes colour.  I added in a drizzle of honey here to caramelize the onion and lamb, and a teaspoon of dried rosemary because it is Ben’s favourite.

Add in your veg – I used frozen peas – and some water.  Add gravy granules or thickener of your choice, and bubble until it is cooked off.

I took two sheets of pastry, and ripped each into thirds.  Layer each of the thirds of pastry on top of each other, with a couple of spritzes of low calorie spray in between.  Pour the pie filling into a baking dish and loosely drape the pastry over the top, tucking in at the edges.

Give the top a drizzle of oil or butter, or a few spritzes of low cal spray and bake in the oven for 25 minutes or until the pastry is brown and the filling is bubbling.

lamb pie, low fat, pie

I would normally serve just with vegetables, but Ben had been a busy boy so he got a jacket potato along side.

lamb pie, jacket potato, vegetablesNow I hope that the storm passes before I have to go out to my exercise class…

What’s your favourite comfort food? 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Lower fat lamb pie

  1. […] Lower fat lamb pie (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

