High protein triple soya and quinoa salad, gluten free

I’m not sure I have much to say today.  I’ve had a busy week, and I think my brain is now on go slow.  Roll on the weekend!

Here’s a recipe that I was surprised was as good as it was.  I bought some red quinoa, and I’m enjoying that more than the black I bought, which was a bit crunchy in my opinion. Maybe I could combine my three quinoas – black, red and white – and have a triple soya and triple quinoa salad.

This delicious dinner contains 33g of protein – leave out the egg white and you still get a good 25g of protein.

Enjoy!

tofu, soya, quinoa, edamame, carrot, egg white

Triple soya and quinoa salad
Serves 1

  • 100g firm tofu
  • 50g soya beans
  • 80g carrots
  • 10g miso paste, I used unpasteurised
  • 50g quinoa, dry weight
  • 75g egg white (optional)
  1. If you have time, wrap the tofu in kitchen paper and a clean tea towel and press to get out as much water as possible.  This step is not essential, but makes for a firmer tofu.
  2. Cook the quinoa according to pack instructions.  You could use precooked quinoa if you like.
  3. Meanwhile steam the soya (edamame) beans – I did this over the cooking quinoa in a tiered steamer.
  4. Heat a health grill to medium-hot.  Slice the tofu and grill.
  5. Steam the carrots in a non-stick frying pan with a splash of water, cover with a lid, glass if possible.
  6. If using the egg white , once the carrot has softened, add the egg white, and stir until it scrambles to your liking.
  7. Stir the miso paste into the carrot or carrot and egg mixture.
  8. Combine the carrot and egg with the quinoa and soya beans and top with the grilled tofu.
Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

