WIAW: Vegetarian Day

Did you see my first What I ate Wednesday post?

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW

I found it quite cathartic, so I thought I would document a vegetarian day – just what do I eat when meat is off the menu?

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW, banana soft serve, I started my day with cacao pancakes made with raw cacao powder, oats, and egg white, served with banana soft serve on the side. I love these pancakes – I thought pancakes were forever off the menu for a healthy diet – I was sooo pleased when the recipe worked!

I get up early (about 6am) and get to work at about 8.00.  I had a cup of tea with skimmed milk when I got in – You know what a coup of tea looks like, I don’t need to show you a photo.

Because I’m up early, it can mean 7 hours without food (6am-1pm) so I have a morning snack to keep me going until lunch.  I am still enjoying the rawmeo balls I bought back from Germany – the cocoa onese are just like a chocolate truffle, but healthy!

rawmeo ball, yoghurt, snack, morningCome lunchtime I went for a walk into town – for a breath of fresh air and to get away from my desk.

When I got back I had some yummy cheesy lentil and aubergine salad, topped with a hard boiled egg.  This kept me going all afternoon, and kept me out of the cookies which seem to haunt the office (especially when I’ve been baking)

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, egg, lentil, aubergine, saladI was off to the gym straight after work for a BodyCombat class followed by yoga, so I took an afternoon snack to keep me going until I got home at 8.00 and had to cook dinner.  I really enjoyed this homemade hummus – made with chickpeas, nutritional yeast, garlic powder and some probiotic yogurt.  It gave me enough energy to get me through the class.  I just hope it didn’t stink out the train carriage – I’m sure I didn’t add too much garlic :-/

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, snack, hummus, nooch, nutritional yeastWhen I got home, I wasn’t in the mood for messing – so I had a stir fry, which I’ve demonstrated as a quick dinner before. In this one I had tofu for protein, a few toasted cashew nuts, mushrooms (another great source of protein – who knew?!), orange pepper, broccoli and 100% buckwheat noodles.  Because I don’t eat wheat, I like to change up my noodles with either 100% brown rice spaghetti, or these buckwheat noodles.  I flavoured it with a splash of tamari sauce.

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, tofu, buckwheat, soba, noodlesAnd that was my day – I’m hungry again just thinking about it 🙂

Who else out there is vegetarian or vegan?  Or do you take a flexitarian, or even meatfree Mondays approach?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “WIAW: Vegetarian Day

  1. Julie September 26, 2013 at 4:07 am Reply

    I keep forgetting about Meatless Mondays!

    • Emily Hawkes September 26, 2013 at 7:22 am Reply

      Hi Julie. I know what you mean – but it doesn’t have to be a Monday – doesn’t even have to be all day, just incorporate a few meat-free meals a week. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

