Peppermint and liquorice cocoa: vegan, gluten free, healthy

Oh my gosh!!! This is Ah-maz-ing!

I saw this idea on Carrie on Vegan, and I knew it had to try it, asap!

But first, my latest Real Foods order has been delivered – YAY!

Real Foods,I love Real Foods – they deliver globally and they have an amazing range of healthy, organic, vegan, vegetarian, raw treats and everyday essentials.  With free delivery in the UK when you spend over £25, I always make up my order with new things as well as old favourites!

Now I’ve stocked up on my raw cacao powder I can make more of this delicious healthy hot cocoa!

I’ve been enjoying peppermint and liquorice tea for a little while now.  I started with Tea Pigs version – that is oh so amazing! 🙂  But a bit pricey 😦  So I’ve moved onto Pukka tea bags.  Not quite such a strong flavour – but good enough for everyday while I save my tea pigs for special occasions – I really know how to live – right!?

I wouldn’t have considered putting milk with my herbal tea.  I mean, it’s just not done!  BUT when I read Carrie’s post it just sounded amazing. (Sorry, is that one too many “amazings” for this blog?) AWESOME!

The mint for digestion, the liquorice for sweetness, and raw cacao powder for a healthy dose of magnesium and antioxidants.  Everyone knows the mood boosting effects of chocolate – and this stuff is raw-some (again, sorry).

liquorice, mint, peppermint, cocoa, cacao, chocolate, hotMint and liquorice hot cocoa
Serves 1

  • 1 peppermint and liquorice teabag
  • 150ml unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp raw cacao powder (about 5g) – use your favourite cocoa powder if you don’t have this

Place your teabag in your favourite mug and pour over freshly boiled water – just enough to cover the teabag.  Heat your almond milk – I do mine on the hob, but by all means use a microwave if that’s how you roll 😉 After 5 minutes (or according to teabag instructions) remove the teabag and stir in your cacao powder.  Add your almond milk, and top with whatever takes your fancy – marshmallows or whipped cream would add extra indulgence.

I can see this working for other herbal teabags, I’m thinking a sweet chai or ginger.  What’s your favourite tea?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Peppermint and liquorice cocoa: vegan, gluten free, healthy

  1. carrieonvegan September 19, 2013 at 4:42 pm Reply

    YUM! So glad I inspired you. 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes September 19, 2013 at 7:16 pm Reply

      So am I Carrie! Thanks for stopping by, hope you’re feeling better. Xx

  2. […] it a bit easier to chew.  I topped it with a sprinkle of buckwheat and cacao nibs, and had some healthy mint cocoa on the […]

  3. […] I started my day with a ‘banana cheesecake’ – I used Pura Vida Raw Living chocolate bread (as seen previously on my blog) and topped with ricotta cheese, mashed banana and cashew nuts.  On the side, I had a 0% fat probiotic yogurt and my mint and liquorice hot chocolate. […]

  4. […] gram flour, and topped it with a poached egg, and cooked tomatoes on the side.  Served with my peppermint and liquorice cocoa and a glass of water. This started my day […]

Leave a Reply

