Cheesy blackberry tempeh, sugar free jam

Wow I was intrigued by Kath Eats Real Food, Tempeh and jam sandwiches.

WEIRD!  I didn’t think of pairing something savoury, like tempeh with jam!  But then I got thinking, I guess tempeh and chutney wouldn’t be so strange, and chutney is just vegetable jam.  So I googled and Pinterest-ed it, and there were loads of options with tempeh, jam and cheese.  Wow!

I’m not eating bread, so I had to think about what I would do instead, and then I realised, I didn’t need to do anything!  Tempeh would make an excellent ‘sandwich’ on its own with berry-mush and melted cheese sandwiched between.

I couldn’t wait to give it a go.  I had it all planned out for Friday morning.  BUT – horror, my mail order tempeh didn’t come on Thursday as expected.

I slowly came to terms with the idea, and made do on Friday with a protein shake with chia seeds.

Ben text me during the day on Friday – IT HAD COME!

blackberry, tempeh, cheese

I made jam for my breakfast rice – I did the same thing here with the blackberries.  Simply mash the berries and add chia seeds to thicken and add nutrition.

Cheesy blackberry tempeh triangles
Serves 1

  • 50g blackberries
  • 5g chia seeds
  • 100g tempeh
  • 20g Babybel light
  1. Mash the blackberries and add the chia seeds.  Set to one side.
  2. Slice your tempeh in half through the ‘equator’.
  3. Heat a health grill or frying pan and add your tempeh.  Grill until just starting to brown.
  4. Add the blackberry jam to one side of the tempeh, slice the cheese and place on the jam.  Sandwich the other slice of tempeh on top.
  5. Continue to grill, flipping if you are using a frying pan, until the cheese melts.
  6. Remove from the grill and slice diagonally.  ENJOY!

What flavour combinations have you been surprised by?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cheesy blackberry tempeh, sugar free jam

  1. […] was my first attempt at combining the tempeh/tofu with ‘jam’ that I had for breakfast once my tempeh did […]

  2. […] that one stage too far from my tempeh and jam […]

Leave a Reply

