A week of lunches

Inspired by Kath Eats Real Food lately posts, I’m covering a week’s worth of lunches.

lunch, lunchbox, saladYou’ll remember on Sunday we bought lots of veg after our holiday, so it was salads in my lunch box this week.

Food shoppingI wrote about Monday’s lunch on my WIAW post.  A delicious chicken salad.

chicken salad, avocado, tomato, lettuce, sweetcorn

WIAW lunch

Tuesday was vegetarian day, so I had cold Tex Mex lentil and aubergine sauté with melted Babybel Light cheese served on a bed of organic spinach and romaine lettuce, topped with a hard boiled egg.

aubergine, lentil, babybel, cheese

Tuesday aubergine and lentil

Wednesday I had cabbage wraps…filled with…

cabbage wraps, tofu scramble, carrot

Wednesday cabbage wraps

…tofu scramble, carrot, sweetcorn and avocado and sprinkled with Suma curry powder.  It was a bit messy, but that’s all part of the fun.

tofu, sweetcorn, avocado, carro

curried tofu scramble

On Thursday I made a tuna salad with romaine lettuce, cucumber, tomato and my aubergine dressing.  I went to the farmer’s market at lunch and accidentally dropped a marrow on a bag of Shillingford Organics lettuce.  I was asked if I was buying it out of guilt – I confessed that yes, I was but I was sure it would be lovely 🙂

shillingford organic salad

accidental salad

As I had it I thought I would supplement my lunch.

tuna salad, organic leaves, aubergine dressing

Thursday tuna salad with accidental leaves

The salad bag was amazing – and I had some to take home. I contacted them on Facebook to ask what was in the bag.  They got back to me within the hour, it was:

Leaves: Lettuce, Endive, Beet leaves, Rocket, Streaky Mustard, Mizuna, New Zealand Spinach, Sorrel, Chervil, Tatsoi, Komatsuna.
Flowers: Coriander, French Marigold, Fennel, Cornflower, Brassica Flowers.

I could definitely taste the lemony sorrel, and something peppery.  I knew when I ate a marigold flower.

Shillingford Organics, edible flowers, lettuce, salad

Some of the salad leaves

On Friday i had a cheesy mushroom omelette made with one egg and some Two Chicks egg white.  I softened some of the carrot and added it in before melting a Babybel Light.  I served it cold with side salad of organic spinach leaves, cucumber and more shredded carrot.

babybel cheese, egg, egg white, carrot, mushroom

Friday cheesy mushroom omelette

So there you have it – my week of lunches.

Do you take a packed lunch, or do you eat at home?  What was your favourite lunch this week?

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A week of lunches

  1. […] I got back I had some yummy cheesy lentil and aubergine salad, topped with a hard boiled egg.  This kept me going all afternoon, and kept me out of the cookies […]

  2. […] I was a bit disappointed this week, by the time I got there lots of the ‘good stuff’ was gone.  I managed to get my hands on the last of the golden beetroots and I bought a bag of salad leaves.  It was from a different farm than the last time I bought salad leaves. […]

Leave a Reply

