Aubergine salad dressing, gluten free, vegetarian

Cramming in as many veg as possible this week, I thought I would change things up with some aubergine dressing for my salad.  In fact, it made so much I could dress two salads!

I love a shiny deep purple aubergine (eggplant) and the smooth, creamy texture of the cooked flesh.  And the way if you bake it, it acts as a sponge and soaks up the flavours it is paired with.

I’ve made garlicky, Baba ganoush as a dip before, and I thought I would extend the idea to a salad dressing.  I didn’t have any tahini or lemon, so I had to improvise.

By scorching the aubergine over a naked flame you get a smoky flavour which is key to baba ganoush.  While this is fine when I am on holiday, when at home we only have electric – so the health grill it was for me.

This did have an added bonus that it kept the aubergine moist and silky smooth so I could use the skin in my dressing – perfect for creating flecks of purple through the dressing.

It was a bit of an experiment – but I loved it.

I went for a cheesy theme with nutritional yeast and a dollop of low fat soft cheese.  This made an incredibly thick paste, so instead of using water or lemon juice to thin it out, I added some digestion-friendly probiotics in the form of a plain yogurt drink.

nutritional yeast, aubergine, probiotic drink, cheese

cheesy aubergine dip ingredients

To make this vegan you can replace the soft cheese with tofu, and maybe use a soya yogurt thinned out with lemon juice.

aubergine, eggplant, salad dressing

cheesy aubergine dressing

Cheesy aubergine (eggplant) salad dressing
Serves 2

  • 100g sliced aubergine
  • 10g nutritional yeast
  • 20g low fat soft cheese
  • 75ml plain probiotic drink
  1. Grill the sliced aubergine on a health grill.  This will help to keep the aubergine moist.  If you don’t have a health grill you could wrap the aubergine in foil and bake in the oven until it collapses in on itself.
  2. Put aubergine, nutritional yeast and soft cheese into a food processor, and process until smooth.
  3. Gradually add in the probiotic yogurt until you get your desired consistency.  I added the entire yogurt drink, but I think you could get away with less.
  4. For flavouring you could add garlic, a squeeze of lemon juice, or mustard – Dijon or wholegrain would work well.  I added a sprinkle of Halzephron Nordic herb mix to the half I put on my tuna salad.
aubergine, eggplant, salad, tuna

aubergine dressed tuna salad

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Aubergine salad dressing, gluten free, vegetarian

  1. A week of lunches | it comes naturally blog September 14, 2013 at 5:20 am Reply

    […] Thursday I made a tuna salad with romaine lettuce, cucumber, tomato and my aubergine dressing.  I went to the farmer’s market at lunch and accidentally dropped a marrow on a bag of […]

  2. […] vegetables – cabbage, carrots and leftover aubergine dressing […]

  3. […] Aubergine salad dressing, gluten free, vegetarian (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

