WIAW: Home from holiday

Have you come across What I Ate Wednesdays (WIAW)?

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW I’m a nosey so-and-so, so it appeals to me to read what other bloggers eat in a day.  It’s enlightening to see how healthy people balance their day so they can have treats yet stay healthy.  It’s, for example, seeing the office colleague who only eats salad during the day but starts the day with a fry up; or your friend who is always munching on cake and chocolate, but never puts on a pound – turns out all she eats for dinner is veg.

I love those articles in magazines – what is in the celebrity’s fridge, or what do they eat in a day.

I didn’t think I would be brave enough to enter a day’s worth of eating, but hey, now I’ve jumped on the band wagon.  And I’m also hoping it will motivate me to stick to the good lessons I learned from my holiday – eating lots of lovely fresh veg, and not picking while I prep my meals.

So just to get this out there – a couple of ‘rules’ from Jenn at Peas and Crayons

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW, rulesFor my first (and maybe last) WIAW post I chose my first day back at work after my holiday.

overnight oats, egg scramble, paprika, spinach, carrots

WIAW breakfast

The scrambled egg in the hotel looked so good while we were away, but knowing it wasn’t cooked to my exacting standards, I knew I wanted to start my week the ‘right way’ with a healthy filling breakfast. I made paprika scrambled eggs with 1 egg and extra egg white from two chicks.  I added in some spinach and carrot for added veggie nutrients and had a side of overnight oats where I soaked some oats in a probiotoic drink before I went to bed.

rawmeo ball, yoghurt, snack, morning

WIAW morning snack

I bought a few of these Rawmeo balls from Lifefood while I was in Germany.  These cashew ones are made with just cashew nuts and dates, but I think my favourite ones were the cacao ones! Alongside my rawmeo ball I had some 0% fat greek yogurt.

chicken salad, avocado, tomato, lettuce, sweetcorn

WIAW lunch

Inspired by the lovely fresh salads I ate in Germany, I made a chicken salad with organic chicken breast, plum tomatoes, sweetcorn, cucumber and avocado.

banana, cashew, afternoon snack, WIAW

WIAW afternoon snack

It was my first BodyPump class back from holiday so I had half a large banana with some cashew nuts to give me energy to get me through the class.

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, quinoa, tofu, chickpeas

WIAW dinner

When I got home I needed a high protein dinner to help my body recover.  I had some mixed quinoa cooked in the fridge, so I grilled some mushrooms, tofu, and orange pepper and served it with the quinoa and chickpeas. I sprinkled over some Halzephron Istanbul spice mix – a mixture of cinnamon, coriander, dill, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, cassia and tumeric.  I could probably have done with something green in there, but I think I got enough greens earlier in the day.

So there you have it, a day in the life of my tummy.  Have a good day!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “WIAW: Home from holiday

  1. Juli September 11, 2013 at 3:06 pm Reply

    I love life food. My favorites are chocolate or brazil nut lifebars 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes September 11, 2013 at 8:44 pm Reply

      Thanks for your comment – I’d never come across life food before, I’ll keep an eye out for it in future though 🙂

  2. A week of lunches | it comes naturally blog September 14, 2013 at 5:20 am Reply

    […] wrote about Monday’s lunch on my WIAW post.  A delicious chicken […]

  3. […] WIAW: Home from holiday (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] you see my first What I ate Wednesday […]

  5. […] WIAW: Home from holiday […]

Leave a Reply

