Kitchen love: 6 new ingredients in my kitchen

This is just a shout out for some of the things that have made their way into my kitchen lately.

I love trying new things, and I’ll get all excited about a new ingredient.  Use it again and again, then forget about it when something new comes along.

So, here are some things I am loving lately:

Green Thai Curry Paste

sharwoods thai green curryI usually make my own curry sauces, but Green Thai curry has so many ingredients, I don’t make it very often.  This one from Sharwoods was selling off at my local supermarket, so I thought I would give it a go.  All the ingredients are things you would recognise:

garlic, green chillies, lemongrass, onions, salt, ginger, galangal, yellow chillies, coriander, cumin, kaffir lime peel, rice vinegar, coriander seeds, white pepper.

It’s high in salt, with 2.5g of your 6g daily allowance, but it made a change.

Pumpkin Seed butter

pumpkin seed butter

Not sure what I make of this one.  I’m on the fence.  But then I’m not a big fan of pumpkin seeds.  I worked with a lady who always had a tub of pumpkin seeds on her desk for snacking.  I like a few to add a crunch to a recipe, but not so keen on their own.

Halzephron Herbs

I’ve been a fan of Halzephron for many years, but while I was in Truro on holiday I picked up a selection of mixed herbs – I just couldn’t stop at one!halzephron, herbs, mixed herbs,All the mixes come without added sugar or salt.  And they come in these cute little tins which look lovely in my kitchen.  My favourite has to be the Tuscan Herb, I also love the Tex Mex, but it’s quite warm for Ben’s tastes.

Suma curry powder

Staying with the herb and curry theme, I am enjoying this curry powder that I bought from Real Foods.  Again, no added salt or sugar, and it has a nice amount of my favourite spice – cumin!  It’s perfect for my Zen bowls.

suma, mild, curry powderHerbamare

I first saw Herbamare on Oh She Glows.  Its a seasoned salt.  Now, as mentioned above I tend to go for herb and spice mixes without added salt, but here I am recommending a salt.  Wherever possible I don’t eat processed foods, so i don’t have a very high tolerance for salt.  Sometimes it’s nice to add just a bit to a recipe or salad, and if I add salt myself, at least I can keep track of it!  I only have a very small sample pot as I don’t use it very much.

herbamare, seasoned saltBiona Vegan Worcester Sauce

biona, vegan, worcester sauceWe never had Worcester sauce in the house growing up.  My Mum didn’t like it, though I don’t now remember why.  I discovered the ‘real’ stuff at University, and started adding it to spaghetti bolognese, tuna pasta etc.  Because it contains anchovies it is not vegetarian or vegan friendly, so I was keen to try this when I saw it.  It tastes as good as the ‘real thing’ and is vegan and gluten free.  I was a little put off by the sugar in it – I try to avoid where possible – but you only use a small amount for seasoning, so I’m willing to overlook it.

What new things have you tried and loved lately?  Do you have any old favourites that you wouldn’t be without?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Kitchen love: 6 new ingredients in my kitchen

  1. […] of lemon juice, or mustard – Dijon or wholegrain would work well.  I added a sprinkle of Halzephron Nordic herb mix to the half I put on my tuna […]

  2. […] So, I used some low fat soft cheese, mixed with some of my Nan’s homemade marrow chutney (shh..don’t tell Ben) for sweetness and a teaspoon of my favourite mild curry powder. […]

Leave a Reply

