Salted caramel apple butter, vegan, gluten free, no added sugar

My lovely parents in law gave me some apples when they visited.  I knew EXACTLY what I wanted to do with them.

I saw a recipe for salted caramel apple butter on Keepin’ it Kind, and I REALLY wanted to try it!

I was willing to go out and buy apples, but then I was given these, and I knew it was meant to be!

apples, windfalls

I wasn’t sure whether I should leave the skins on the apples when I chopped them up – apple skin can be quite determined 🙂

chopped applesI left the skin on, and I’m glad I did.  It broke down with my hand blender, and you wouldn’t know it was there, but I’m sure it helps to thicken the sauce (all that pectin) and the added fibre is great for digestion!

Salted caramel apple butter

  • 6-8 apples, cored and chopped, I left the skin on
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 6 dates, soaked for at least 1 hour and skins removed
  • 2 tablespoons rice milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  1. Put the apple wedges into your slow cooker and cover the bottom with water.  Put it on low for 2-4 hours.  I just put it on when I left for work and asked Ben to turn it off later in the morning.
  2. While the apples are cooking, soak the dates – I used regular cheap dates and soaked them for about 8 hours while I was at work – they don’t NEED this long.  When I got home the skins were easy to remove, and the dates were plump and a bit ‘mushy’
  3. Put the skinned dates, rice milk, vanilla bean paste and sea salt in a blender and process until smooth.  This is delicious on it’s own – but you should probably put it in an airtight container until the apples are cooked.
  4. Once the apples are cooked and breaking down (if it’s really wet drain off any excess liquid, but a little won’t hurt, you could always boil it down to reduce afterwards) blitz them with a hand/stick blender until smooth.  Add in the cinnamon and the date caramel and blend until combined.
  5. Once cool, cover and transfer to the fridge.  You can eat it as it is – or it’s perfect for my Vegan Gingerbread loaf – watch this space!!!!

caramel, vegan, salted, no added sugar, apple butterKristy serves hers on a bagel (amongst other things). How would you eat this salted caramel apple butter?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

