Succotash inspired salad, vegan, gluten-free

Today is a sad day and a celebration of a life, and while I can’t be there, I will be wearing my Jonny Black band with pride and thinking of my friends.

Jonny Black,

The Legendary Jonny Black

This salad is perfect for serving at a barbeque for a crowd.

I’m not even sure where the idea came from.  I was reading something about rice and beans, or sweetcorn, or something.  It didn’t really register until I decided that the corn on the cob I had bought needed eating – soon!  I had some black eyed beans open from making mexican beans, and so this seemed like the perfect way to use up some things I already had.

Now, I wasn’t really sure what an authentic succotash consisted of.  The only time I had ever come across it was Sylvester’s cries of “suffering succotash!”

So I did what every good food blogger does when faced with a new challenge – I googled it!

Wikipedia tells me that:

“Succotash is a food dish consisting primarily of corn and lima beans or other shell beans. Other ingredients may be added including tomatoes and green or sweet red peppers.”

The term comes from Narragansett meaning “boiled corn kernels” – does what it says on the tin then!

I used what I had in my fridge, not sticking too rigidly to any recipes I found: black eyed beans rather than lima beans because I had some open, avocado for creamy good fats; grilled marrow because I had some and wanted a change from stuffing it!

succotash, salad, beans, sweetcorn, corn on the cob, marrow, tomato

Succotash Inspired Salad

  • Kernels of corn from ½ cob
  • 80g cooked black eyed beans
  • 60g cherry tomatoes
  • ½ small avocado
  • Large chunk of marrow, cubed (approx 80g)
  • Apple cider vinegar, herbamare to season
  1. Either boil or steam the corn on the cob.  Once cooked, rinse under a cold tap until cool enough to handle.
  2. Strip the kernels from the cob. Cut the tomatoes into quarters.  You can remove the seeds if you prefer.
  3. Scoop the flesh from the avocado and cube.
  4. Chargrill the marrow chunks, see the tip below.
  5. Place the sweetcorn, beans, tomato, beans,
  6. Season with apple cider vinegar and Herbamare.
  7. Serve slightly warm as a side salad, or a main course salad with a carbohydrate and protein.

succotash, salad, sweetcorn, marrow, beans, black eyed beans, tomatoWhen faced with a new recipe, do you Google, or do you use a loved cookbook or website?  What are your recommendations?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

