Mexican beans: vegan, gluten-free

I was inspired to make this by Kristy at Keepin’ It Kind – Kristy has an amazing writing style, and makes it feel like you are chatting to your best friend.  I love her writing!

Growing up we stuck to fairly traditional meals: meat and two veg, cottage pies etc.  Our most adventurous meals were probably my Dad’s spaghetti bolognese, and the leftovers my Mum would turn into a lasagne.

We would occasionally have a curry – but it was sauce from a jar.  And the same went for chilli con carne.  That was the closest I came to Mexican food as a kid and I would inevitably try to pick out all the kidney beans, not being a fan (I know, can’t believe it now!).  We would never have tried avocado or guacamole and salsa.

So when I read about Kristy’s childhood visits to a Mexican restaurant, I was inspired to try and cook my own version.  Kristy’s bowl had black beans – I don’t know what they were, but I bought black eyed beans – something I didn’t think I was keen on.

For anyone who regularly reads my blog you will know I am reading Danny Wallace’s Yes Man. Am I feeling inspired to say yes more? Maybe.  But I have realised that I’m not really a ‘No Woman‘.  I DO like to try new experiences.  I have a foreboding ‘fear of missing out’ (or FOMO as a friend at work calls it) and I never can say “no” to a friend (please don’t use that against me!).

When I went to University I was keen to try new foods, I signed up to clubs (in fact, someone called me a ‘joiner’ and I don’t think they meant it in a good way), but it was all done on my own terms.  I’m not very spontaneous – I like to give consideration before I commit to something.  Maybe I need, not to say ‘yes’ more, but to take a more spontaneous approach.

Anyway, back to those beans:

Mexican beans, black eyed beans, Sorry it looks a bit insipid.  I used iceberg lettuce because that’s what I had in the fridge at the time.  Under normal circumstances I would have spinach/romaine lettuce/little gem lettuce over iceberg – but needs must.

Mexican Beans
Serves 1

  • 80g black eyed beans tinned in water
  • 10g tomato puree concentrate
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tsp Mexican spice blend or 1/2 tsp smoked paprika and 1/2 tsp cumin
  • half a small avocado (approx 30g)
  • lettuce – iceberg, romaine, spinach, little gem all work well
  • 1 serving of quinoa
  1. Cook your quinoa according to packet instructions.
  2. In a non-stick frying pan, lightly toast your spices and ginger for a minute or two – don’t allow them to burn (This is where Ben usually tells me off!)
  3. Add the tomato puree and cook off for a couple of minutes to remove the bitterness.
  4. Add your beans and a splash of water, cook until heated through.  Add more water as necessary.
  5. Serve over the lettuce, and quinoa and top with slices of avocado.

Are you a Yes man/woman or do you lean towards saying ‘no’?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Mexican beans: vegan, gluten-free

  1. Grace August 30, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    I love Mexican food and it’s very rare to find one out here in CZ. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I might give it a try!

    • Emily Hawkes August 30, 2013 at 8:17 am Reply

      Hi Grace. Thanks for following my blog. This is easy, and all the ingredients are fairly easy to come by. you can use whatever beans are easiest for you to get hold of. ENJOY!

  2. […] on the cob I had bought needed eating – soon!  I had some black eyed beans open from making mexican beans, and so this seemed like the perfect way to use up some things I already […]

  3. Mexican Spice Bean Burritos | serves4 September 16, 2013 at 6:14 pm Reply

    […] Mexican beans: vegan, gluten-free (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

