Pulled jack fruit, vegan, gluten free

I first read about jack fruit on Keepin’ it Kind.  I’d never heard of it before, and I believe I said so in the comments!

Having never heard of it, or where I could get hold of it I put it to the back of my mind.

That is until I saw a tin in the Chinese supermarket.

jack fruit, jackfruitIt was clearly meant to be! I wasn’t even planning on going to the supermarket that day.  I was eating out with Ben, Josh, and his girlfriend, and we were there early.  I hadn’t been to the Chinese Supermarket since I was at University 5 years ago, so we didn’t know if it would still be there.

It was a nice evening, so we headed over to explore…. and low and behold there was a tin of jack fruit.

I have to confess, I didn’t buy it there and then, I sent Ben in a few weeks later when he was in the vicinity – thanks Love!

So now I had my (large!) tin of jackfruit, and no idea what to do with it.  If you didn’t click the link above the first recipe was atop a pizza.  Still not eating bread (boo hoo!) I decided that was out of the question.

Other suggestions included making a mock tuna sandwich (nope), or enchiladas (more bread products).

I decided I would make ‘pulled jackfruit’ a vegan version of Ben’s pulled chicken, but instead of serving it with a bun, I would serve it on my courgette noodles.

Oh, wait!  I didn’t show you the massive courgette I bought! It could feed a small army for a week!

courgette, zucchiniDoesn’t look so big??  Check it out next to my penny

zucchini, courgetteOk, so if you aren’t familiar with British coins that might be lost on you…trust me, it was BIG!!!!

Anyway, the jack fruit wasn’t what I expected

jackfruit, jack fruitBut once I’d shredded the big chunks – I tried with two forks as I would with pulled chicken, but resorted to using my fingers – it was more what I was expecting.  It did rather resemble flakes of tuna.  Though I was a little weirded out by the seeds – they resembled small oval eyeballs (sorry if that puts you off)

I didn’t think it had much of a taste on it’s own, you could taste the brine, but not much else.  I asked Ben to try some and he balked at the idea.  He did eventually have some, but the piece was so small I’m surprised he even knew it was there!  He stuck to his pulled chicken bap.

jackfruit, pulled jack fruit, bbq, barbeque, noodles, spiralizer, vegan, gluten freePulled jackfruit
Serves 1

  • 85g jack fruit, approx 3 pieces, shredded
  • 60g chopped tomatoes
  • 1tsp vegan Worcester sauce
  • 1stp apple cider vinegar
  • courgette noodles and vegan cheese to serve
  1. Make the sauce by putting the chopped tomatoes, Worcester sauce, and cider vinegar in a small frying pan to heat. You can puree them in a blender first for a smooth sauce.
  2. Stir in the jack fruit and warm on a moderate heat.
  3. Meanwhile make the courgette noodles with a spiralizer.
  4. You can briefly saute the noodles to soften, or serve raw depending on your tastes
  5. Top the noodles with the pulled jack fruit and serve with cheese, vegan cheese or nutritional yeast.

What are the weirdest ingredients you’ve tried? Have you got any stories of massive vegetables?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pulled jack fruit, vegan, gluten free

  1. Grace August 30, 2013 at 8:09 am Reply

    Hmmm…it will be difficult to find jackfruit over here. But thanks for sharing!

    • Emily Hawkes August 30, 2013 at 8:19 am Reply

      I didn’t think I would be able to find it. It’s worth giving it a go if you do see it, but I know what you mean about hard-to-come-by ingredients. Let me know if you do find it 🙂

Leave a Reply

