Black quinoa zen bowl

Good Morning!

I bought some black quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) recently.  I thought I would give it a go for a change.

The nutritional benefits of quinoa are well known, including:

  • the highest iron content of any grain (although technically it is a seed)
  • contains all 9 essential amino acids
  • rich in vitamins A, B2 and E.

According to the website I bought it from: Black quinoa is slightly more fibrous in texture than white quinoa, and is crunchier when cooked.

It cooks much the same as regular quinoa.  The cooking instructions read:

To prepare, rinse thoroughly under running water before cooking. Then, add 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water or stock, bring to the boil, then cover and simmer for 15 minutes

Simples!

You know when it’s cooked because the germ separates, giving the effect of little tails.

black quinoa

cooked black quinoa

I’m always keen to try something new, so I was ‘ready’ to try a Zen Bowl this time using black quinoa.  I’ve made successful versions with egg, or with tofu.

crunchier when cooked” ?! – I should say so!  It had more the texture of poppy seeds crunching between my teeth.  I liked it, yes.  But I think next time I will cook a mixture of white and black quinoa.

black quinoa, zen bowl, scramble, egg, avocado,

Black quinoa Zen bowl
Serves 1

  • 1 portion cooked black and white quinoa (approx 60-100g cooked weight)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp curry powder of your choice (choose a low salt version)
  • vegetables of your choice, my favourites are carrot
  • lettuce and avocado to serve
  1. Cook your quinoa according to packet instructions.  If there are no instructions: rinse thoroughly under running water before cooking. Then, add 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water or stock, bring to the boil, then cover and simmer for 15 minutes.
  2. Sweat down the carrot until softened.
  3. Stir in the egg and egg white with a your curry powder and gently scramble.
  4. Serve with cooked quinoa, and top with some sliced avocado for good fats and a creamy texture and some crispy lettuce.

I like this curry powder at the moment

suma, mild, curry powderNo salt, just cumin (my favourite), coriander, turmeric, ginger, fennel, cloves, fenugreek and pepper – Yum!

Do you buy curry powders, or do you make your own?  What are your favourite flavour comibnations?

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Black quinoa zen bowl

  1. […] Staying with the herb and curry theme, I am enjoying this curry powder that I bought from Real Foods.  Again, no added salt or sugar, and it has a nice amount of my favourite spice – cumin!  It’s perfect for my Zen bowls. […]

Leave a Reply

