Protein powders

While I was on holiday, I needed something quick, easy (and quiet) to make for breakfast.  I get up much earlier than the rest of the family, so I needed something I could pull together with minimal fuss.  I took a few protein powders with me, and that worked well.  Simply add water, and I’m sorted until everyone else gets up 3 hours later!

But, I didn’t take enough with me for every day. So while we were out shopping, I picked up a couple of samples to try.

First up was Ketoslim

KetoSlim, vegan, protein powder, vanillaKetoSlim is the first vegan protein powder I have tried.  At only 100 calories for the portion, I was happy to give it a go.  Gluten free and made from Non-GMO rice protein, pea protein and soy, it packs in 23g of protein in a 33g serving.  My usual protein powder is about 26g protein for 56g powder, and approx 200 calories.

I’m now questioning the vegan statement, the website states vegetarian and lactose-free.  If you know, please clarify this in the comments box.

According to the packaging:

KETOslim Shake includes nutritional reinforcements: a proteolytic enzyme blend, spirulina, Critical Flora, carnitine, and a Whole Food Blend of 50 fruits and vegetables, like broccoli, spinach, apple, and apricot.

Critical Metabolism – Supports healthy metabolism with proven dieting aids, including CitriMax®, carnitine and taurine.
Critical Green Whole Food Blend – Provides abundant phytonutrients and trace elements found in fruits and vegetables.

I was a bit disappointed by the size of the shake – 8fl oz or 236 (ish)ml, is just over half the size of the 400ml shake I usually have.  But, then the powder size is smaller.

When it came to the taste test, I’m sorry, I was REALLY disappointed.  I was at this point GLAD it was half the size of my usual protein powder – it tasted like dirt! The powder was grainy, and the vanilla taste did not mask the flavour.

Sorry, but I won’t be buying this one again.

Next up was PhD Woman Meal Replacement powder

strawbery protein powder, phd, woman, meal replacementAt 55g per portion with 25.5g of protein and 205 calories, this is more like the protein powders I am used to.  This comes in at almost 20g carbohydrates, of which 3g are sugars.  My usual protein powder contains 11.6g carbs, 2.4g sugar.

This one was made up with 250ml water, so again, it was smaller than my usual brand.

Other than the serving size, I liked the taste.  It had real freeze dried (I think) pieces in it, which was nice (my regular brand does too, but they are smaller pieces).

I was a bit put off that this was marketed as a meal replacement powder.  I don’t think a shake can replicate the nutrition of a balanced meal, but I guess this is what I was using it for, while on holiday, if not to lose weight.

I think for now I will stick to my regular protein powders.

Can you recommend a protein powder?  What brands do you like?

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Protein powders

  1. […] Protein powders (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Chris September 3, 2013 at 11:59 pm Reply

    Creatine RT and Just-Whey are probably the best powders. Found them at fasthaste.com . They review the most awesome fitness supplements.

    • Emily Hawkes September 5, 2013 at 4:56 am Reply

      Thanks for the tip, I’ll look into it.

Leave a Reply

