Chocolate protein pancakes, gluten free, no protein powder

Happy Bank Holiday Monday!

Ben worked last night, so we will be able to share a rare breakfast together.  It being a Bank Holiday, I’m thinking something which will keep me going all day.

I’m not sure how I feel about Protein powder.  Now, I have been using it a fair bit recently in my recipes.  I’ve found it a useful way to boost my intake of protein, especially as I don’t eat a lot of meat or fish.  BUT I’m aware that it is a processed food – and I try to avoid processed food as much as possible.

So, I’m at a bit of an impasse.

Therefore, I thought I would try to make my protein pancakes, but without the protein powder.

They came out successfully when I changed it up to make fritters.  I simply swapped the protein powder for nutritional yeast, and it worked perfectly.

However, this time I didn’t know what I would be adding in, where I was taking away.

I knew it would need more flavour, so I simply opted to use some raw cacao powder. But being quite bitter, I didn’t want to replace it entirely.  I decided to just ‘go for it’, and see how it went.  And yes, it worked fine.

egg white, oats, chocolate, cacao powder, breakfast, pancakes, protein
Sorry the image it a bit out of focus, it was first thing after all!

As you can see, they worked fine.  These ones stuck a little, but I think I was just impatient with spritzing the pan with low calorie spray, and allowing them to set.  It all tasted just fine anyway!

They were perhaps a little bit more ‘omelette-y’ than normal, but the cacao powder dealt with that.

No protein powder, protein pancakes
Serves 1

  • 70g egg white
  • 10g ground flax seed
  • 4g raw cacao powder
  • 20g jumbo oats, processed to oat flour
  • 50ml rice milk; almond, soya or dairy milk will work just fine.
  1. Put the oats in your food processor, and blitz to make a coarse flour.
  2. Add in all the other ingredients and combine
  3. Heat the frying pan to hot and add spoonfuls of batter, I like to make 4 pancakes out of the batter.
  4. Turn it down to a medium heat, place a lid over the top so they part steam/bake.
  5. When the top is set and starting to form bubbles remove from the heat.
  6. Flip the pancakes.  Return to the heat to seal the other side.
  7. Serve with your choice of toppings, I went for a small dollop of peanut butter, and some leftover blackberries.

chocolate protein pancakes, no protein powder, egg white, cacao, breakfast

Now the question is: My gym is closed today, do I do some body-weight circuit training, or take a rest day???

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Chocolate protein pancakes, gluten free, no protein powder

  1. […] started my day with cacao pancakes made with raw cacao powder, oats, and egg white, served with banana soft serve on the side. I love […]

Leave a Reply

