Blackberry smoothie, gluten free, vegan option

When we got back from holiday there was a treat from Real Foods waiting for me.  I took some snaps and have been forgetting to put them in my blog posts.  Here you are:

Real Foods, Oat cakes, competition prize

Competition Prize

A little while ago they ran a Facebook competition to win a packet of these BreadShare Bakery Oatcakes:

Breadshare Bakery Oatcakes

Breadshare Bakery Oatcakes

I didn’t win, but they kindly sent a packet of the oatcakes to everyone who entered.  I can’t wait to try these!

blackberry bushI first saw blackberries ripening a couple of days after my birthday. Though I was tempted, Ben tells me not to eat them because they will be sour.  But now they are definitely ripe enough.

So when I got back from the gym, I decided to pick some of these tasty treats back of the house.

When I was younger I used to go picking blackberries with my Nan.  We would take a big stick to help us to reach the high ones.  We would then take them home and make a blackberry milk shake.  In addition to the blackberries and milk she would add ice cream into the blender, then add a dollop of ice cream on top for good measure.

I was inspired by my Nan’s treats to make a healthier version.  I used my go-to smoothie recipe using a probiotic drink, silken tofu, and protein powder.

Blackberries are high in bioflavonoids and Vitamin C.  Their dark colour indicates they have high antioxidants.  I was interested to learn that the vitamin K (not slang for ketamine) in blackberries aids in muscle relaxing, so some women use the berries to alleviate labour pains. As part of a regular diet, the juice can also be used to regulate menstruation as it is very effective in helping blood to clot.  There’s something I didn’t know!

blackberry, tofu, probiotic, proteinBlackberry Smoothie

  • 80g blackberries
  • 100ml probiotic drink (vegan if required)
  • 100g silken tofu
  • 15g vanilla protein powder
  • toppings, I used some jumbo oats, cacao nibs and a few more blackberries

Simply put all the smoothie ingredients (not the toppings) into your blender and blitz until smooth.  There will probably be seeds, so you can sieve these out if they bother you, but I quite like them – reminds me of Nanny 🙂

blackberry, smoothie,

Digging in

Read more

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/01/31/blackberry-facts_n_2581622.html

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

