Squash and Sweetcorn fritters: vegetarian, gluten free

spaceship squash, pattypan

spaceship squash

I’ve had a few tiring and emotional days, so today I’m going to keep it short and sweet (a bit like me 🙂 )

Did you see the spaceship squash I bought a couple of weeks ago from the Farmer’s Market?  Isn’t it cute?!  Some may know it as a patty pan.

I didn’t know what to do with it.  I thought about stuffing it but I had already had a stuffed marrow, with more marrow to come.  I googled it, and came up with an idea:

Vegetable fritters!

I thought fritters were off the menu since I stated to eat clean and gluten free.  Fried food, a total no-go.  But I eat pancakes for breakfast now 🙂  If I could make a healthy pancake I can make fritters.  So I used the basis of my protein pancake recipe to create a fritter.

I changed up the protein powder for nooch (nutritional yeast) and pretty much kept the rest the same.  I was so pleased that it worked!

spaceship squash, pattypan, sweetcorn, nutritonal yeast, fritters, cheese, oats

Spaceship squash and sweetcorn fritters
Serves 1

  • 70g egg white
  • 45ml almond milk
  • 20g oats
  • 10g ground flaxseed
  • 10 nutritional yeast
  • 20g low fat stringy cheese, grated or crumbled (optional)
  • 80g chopped pattypan/spaceship squash
  • 40g tinned sweetcorn
  1. Prepare the squash by cutting open and removing the seeds in the middle.  Chop up to the size of large sweetcorn.  Don’t grate or it might end up too watery which will thin the batter.
  2. Put the oats in your food processor, and blitz to make a coarse flour.
  3. Add in all the other ingredients and combine
  4. Heat the frying pan to hot and add spoonfuls of batter, I like to make a few smaller pancakes – I think 3 or 4 out of this mixture.
  5. Turn it down to a medium heat, place a lid over the top so they part steam/bake.
  6. When the top is set and starting to puff remove from the heat.
  7. Flip the fritters.  Return to the heat to seal the other side.
  8. Serve hot with a salad and dips.
squash and sweetcorn fritters

vegetable fritters

I used some of the leftover squash to make a miso, tempeh noodle soup.
Nutritious and delicious, light but comforting.

miso, tempeh, noodle, soup, pattypan, squash, carrot, buckwheat noodle, noriWhat are your go-to comfort foods?  Needing the love…

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

