The Legendary Jonny Black

I want to share a personal post with you, I hope you don’t mind.

I’m making a shout out to the Legendary Jonny Black, who sadly passed away on Sunday Night.

Jonny was 8th Dan Tae Kwon Do Master, BodyPump and BodyCombat instructor and gym instructor at my local sports centre.  I got to know Jonny through BodyPump and BodyCombat classes.

Jonny gave me my very first tour of the leisure centre which was to become like a second home to me 🙂  He was the first one on hand when I was made redundant from my job, and went to the only place I knew I could vent would see friendly faces.

For about 4 years I was a regular in his classes, and for about the first 18 months I was always ‘girlfriend’ (along with any other women in the classes) – until he finally remembered my name 😀

Whenever he saw me in the gym he would stop and say ‘hello’, tell me how well I was doing before going on his way.

Ben became a regular at the gym since February 2012.  Jonny would always tell me when he had seen Ben, and tell me how well he was doing. Since we got married in September it was always jokes about married life.

In my Mum’s first class, he made her feel welcome with jokes and lightheartedness.  His routines often felt a little ‘off-the-cuff’ and not always perfect, but we forgave him this because it made us all feel better that we weren’t perfect.

I will forever think of Jonny when I hear the following songs that made up some of his favourite BodyCombat tracks:

  • Footloose
  • Shake Your Tail Feather
  • Du Hast (Oh my God, I’m never going to do Du Hast with Jonny again!)
  • Living in America Newton Abbot

GOD BLESS YOU JONNY

With love to Trish and your family.

Jonny Black, Master Black,

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Legendary Jonny Black

  1. […] to the Legendary Jonny Black – much loved friend who passed away this […]

  2. […] made some new friends, but we lost a good friend in the last year – never […]

Leave a Reply

